tweakboy just pulled the trigger on 3 parts. CPU/RAM/Mobo

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by tweakboy, Dec 14, 2012.

  1. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    2
    After all of Anand forums help and my research I have decided on 3 parts I need to upgrade. CPU, MOBO, RAM. The rest I have.

    I decided on the Sabertooth x79 LGA 2011 it has a PCI slot which I need for my sound card. It is quad channel. 8dimms military grade.

    For RAM I decided on Corsair Vengeance Red 32GB 8GBx4 for 164.99
    Sabertooth is 314.99
    CPU is where Im kinda stuck. I have no idea what to get. I need a CPU that is 2011 socket. Should I pull the trigger on a Sandy E 3930k, or should I get a Ivy 3770k ? Then again the 3770k wont fit on a 2011 right ? Thanks all Love you all, gg and gl, :confused:

    5 years is enough... tweakboy is in upgrade mode. Wait til I take my future baby to 5Ghz ,,, How much voltage would I need for 5Ghz ? 1.4v or what ? thanks again...
     
    #1 tweakboy, Dec 14, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2012
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - tweakboy pulled trigger Forum Date
    Could AMD's Jaguar pull a Dothan? CPUs and Overclocking Jun 20, 2013
    So how does AMD pull this one through? CPUs and Overclocking Apr 6, 2013
    Tweakboy it worked new hardware same hard drive. CPUs and Overclocking Dec 18, 2012
    tweakboy reviews his 3820 vs Q6600 GO in Sonar X2 Producer CPUs and Overclocking Dec 16, 2012
    Im calling out tweakboy! CPUs and Overclocking Dec 5, 2012

  3. inf64

    inf64 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,734
    Likes Received:
    933
    If you want s2011 it's logical you cannot fit IB 3770K mainstream chip (s1155) into that motherboard... You NEED s2011 CPU,I recommend the second best hex core from SB-E line-up - 3930K. It will give you the best performance for the money and it's fully unlocked. It has massive on-die cache which will help it surpass even IB in many ST workloads(same clock). The downside is that the combo costs a lot but that's the price for top of the line performance.You cannot go faster than that,unless you opt for Xeon platform with dual CPUs.
     
  4. NTMBK

    NTMBK Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    216
    Yup, 3770k is LGA1155, so it won't work on 2011. The only 2011 quad core is the 3820. If you're going to go for a quad, I'd go for the 3770k, and only bother with LGA2011 if you want to go big and go for the 3930k. If you do go LGA1155, then there's nice boards like the MSI Z77A-G43 with PCI slots (and save you a few hundred bucks ;) ).
     
  5. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    2
    Wow thanks to all the replies,, thx gurus of the world.

    Ya looks like 3930k ,,,,,, because a 3820 doesnt have the K .. I dislike that.

    I have no choice but to go with a 3930k and OC it to 5Ghz and be happy for another 5 years if not 10.
     
  6. Markfw

    Markfw CPU Moderator VC&G Moderator Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    14,428
    Likes Received:
    631
    I doubt you will get 5 ghz. Is you get 4.2, be happy. And get a good cooler, like an H100.
     
  7. inf64

    inf64 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,734
    Likes Received:
    933
    Yeah Water Cooling is a must. He can hit ~4.5Ghz with it without much issues I think.
     
  8. Idontcare

    Idontcare Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,130
    Likes Received:
    6
    Tweakboy, just a sanity-check question here - you know your app scales with core-count but do you know for certain that it strongly relies on the part of Intel's cores that are not present in AMD's?

    What I mean is, have you any benchmark results comparing performance with a relatively inexpensive FX-8350 (8 integer cores) versus that of the considerably more expensive S2011 CPUs you are considering?

    Your needs are very narrowly defined and based on a very specific application. I would caution you against using generalized benchmark data and generalized review results as the basis of your purchasing decision.

    Make sure you really will see the best performance from the S2011 chips before diving into the purchase.
     
  9. T_Yamamoto

    T_Yamamoto Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13,860
    Likes Received:
    9
    .....sabertooth. really.

    Also 5ghz is unrealistic unless you get a custom cooler
     
  10. dma0991

    dma0991 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would've suggest a custom loop with a 360mm double thickness radiator to hit 5GHz but I have doubts in OP's level of meticulousness when it comes to getting it right the first time. One loose barb or something just isn't tight enough and thousand dollars of PC hardware goes down the drain.
     
  11. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks guys, I see you get better OCes with Ivy. I bet you can take a Ivy 3770k to 5Ghz under water. but what voltage you need. I know my rig can handle 1.45v to the CPU........ how much needed for 5Ghz,,,, I just like the way it sounds,, 5Ghz,,, their I said it again.... anyhow.... thx,,
     
  12. hokies83

    hokies83 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just get a used 2600k / used board and call it a day.
     
  13. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    2
    Heres the thing guys. It must be a 2011 socket that I am getting, so in the future I can put a Ivy E processor in it.

    So what are my choices for 2011 socket i7 core ? 3820 without the K can you still OC it ?
     
  14. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    2

    HAHAAH I like that approach. You know I think I might as well do that.

    I can grab a 2700k for 280 dollars,,,, how much voltage you need on this Sandy for a 5Ghz OC ???
     
  15. hokies83

    hokies83 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    No chip is the same. But a 5ghz 2700k vs what you have now will be like going from a Go Kart to a Rocket Ship.

    Also the "socket 2011 up Grade path is crap imo"

    Due to the fact that Ivy-E "just the Cpu" Will most likely cost more then a Whole broadwell Cpu+mb+DDR4 ram..

    Then you sell your 1155 Cpu+mb+ram and u end up with the Broadwell setup for Less then half the cost of the Ivy-E Cpu.
     
  16. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    2

    Im on water, they compared these two and say Tt and Corsair use same parts theres a company that builds the parts..... anyhow,,,, its single rad not a dual rad like I used to have sitting outside the case.

    My temps @ 1.45v before I had to buy a used P5k that cant OC well...

    45 to 55c avg. In a room that is kept at 70F ....... I once hit 62c doing stability test for 10 hours straight.

    Soo from your responses looks like you cant OC the 3930 that well... Im better off going with a 3820 ..... Can I OC this 3820 even tho the multli is locked ? thx
     
  17. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    2
    I like my Tt Water 2.0 Performer. its the same crap H100i is. the rubbereized tubes the RAD ,, the water block same..... pump.. 500 liter an hour. So I dont know where you coming with the H100 stuff Branfw900.... thank you.
     
  18. T_Yamamoto

    T_Yamamoto Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13,860
    Likes Received:
    9
    Aio coolers are crap.
     
  19. amenx

    amenx Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,932
    Likes Received:
    67
    Does that mean we'll see more colors in your sig?
     
  20. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    36,444
    Likes Received:
    908
    My understanding is that yes, it is possible, with bus clock settings. S2011 has options for bus clocks, unlike 1155.
     
  21. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok I think Im gonna grab the 3820, then upgrade to Ivy E . so I need 2011 socket and cant put down 600 dollars on a CPU. You can OC the 3820 right ? Except multi is locked, so you raise the bus ?
     
  22. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    2

    These arent air coolers the H100i and TT Water 2.0 Performer alto use air for the RAD , its cooled by liquid. thx
     
  23. Kenmitch

    Kenmitch Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    6,634
    Likes Received:
    36
    Changing the bclk to 125 gets you 4.8ghz or so. Might be able to up it a little bit more to get 5ghz....Do you feel lucky :)
     
  24. beginner99

    beginner99 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,167
    Likes Received:
    94
    Damn! I hoped he meant a real trigger...but hey if he continues with the amount of useless posts he might actually drive me crazy! :p

    Military grade RAM? Yeah must ROCK!
     
  25. hokies83

    hokies83 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    LoL why do u want socket 2011?

    Those Extra threads are only good for running multi instances of Heavy threaded programs And encoding programs that take advantage of the extra threads.

    Day to day use the 3770k is going to be the faster chip.

    And all a 3820 is..

    It is a 2600/2700k with locked multi that uses a Socket 2011 board which when it is all said and done would cost more then a 2700k build and a 3770k build.

    You can clock 2700k/3770k to 5ghz on a 100$ board..

    Example...
    [​IMG]
     
    #24 hokies83, Dec 14, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2012
  26. ShintaiDK

    ShintaiDK Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20,395
    Likes Received:
    128
    That explains where all the DDR1 266Mhz went!