TV Tuner advice / experiences

mrzed

Jan 29, 2001
Yes I've read the many threads available fon the topic, but I'm left with a few questions.

I will be puting together the following system soon:

XP2500+ Mobile Barton - Biostar M7NCG - Custom mATX Case -

Primarily this will be used to watch TV, schedule recordings, rip CD's, listen to music, watch DVD's and schedule recording of FM radio. It is for standard cable with no immediate plans to go HD. I won't be likely to run consoles through the machine.

I am a linux newb, but I like the idea of testing out MythTV. Most likely I will start with windows though, until I get used to the thing. My choices are in canadian dollars:

PVR150 - $100 no FM radio
Sapphire Theatre 550 - $100 includes FM
Visiontex Theatre 550 - $120 includes beyondTV (anyone used this? recommedations?)
PVR350 - I $160 FM radio and Hardware decoder (not sure if this will be any advantage.

So other than Linux compatibility is there any advantage to the PVR cards? Has anyone used a Theatre 550 successfully with MythTV? And finally, what about the idea of using a software only card? I suspect I wil have more than enough CPU for the task, but I'm mostly concerned with quality. Droppping frames would not please me.

mrzed

Jan 29, 2001
Bump with another question:

I just read in a review of a theatre550 based card that it does not support recording of FM radio. This is a potential deal breaker for me. Can anyone confirm if this is true for all cards based on the same chipset? If so, are there any other cards that offer this functionality?

Peter

Elite Member
Oct 15, 1999
You know you don't need a TV card to watch DVD?

Besides, if this is not about HDTV, you'll do fine with something inexpensive like the KWorld 7131 card ($29 on newegg).