TV to PC for gaming, any specs I should look for?

Dryst999

Feb 25, 2010
So I will be building a new rig this month and i'm thinking about adding some extras to create an amazing entertainment center in my bedroom. New rig will be pretty beefy, here a few of the important specs

i7 3770 OC'd to 4-4.5Ghz
16gb DDR3 1600
2x6850 Radeon running CF (Already have these)
240gb SSD + 2tb 7200RPM HDD

Right now i'm using a 28' Monitor. I'm thinking of about adding a 40-50inch TV to use as a primary monitor. I love PC gaming but hate sitting in my computer chair. I have a wireless xbox controller with the PC dongle, if I could mount a TV on the wall I could play in bed which would be HEAVEN.

I've never used a TV as a monitor before, i'm really worried about the quality. I'd like to keep the TV in the $400-$800 range but will spend more if it's worth it. What specs should I look for in a TV for this setup? Would any 1080p TV work?

Ken g6

Programming Moderator, Elite Member
Dec 11, 1999
While I don't really know about the TV, I have some other comments on your rig:

A 3570k should be just as good as that 3770k, unless you're doing lots of video conversion. It might even clock higher.
You don't need more than 8GB RAM unless you're doing Photoshop or video editing.
2x6850 == microstutter city. :( First rule of General Hardware: ask before you buy. (Or is it the second? I forget. :p)
240gb SSD - is that one with a Sandforce controller? I suggest a 256GB Samsung 830 or Crucial M4.

I have heard that TVs used this way need a "gaming mode" or some such thing to turn off a feature that makes the picture lag.

Nov 26, 2005
I've often wondered about this as-well. How are Plasma TVs with their high refresh rate? Is their input-lag less than on a mainstream consumer-market LCD?

Durvelle27

Diamond Member
Jun 3, 2012
i game on a 1920x1080 tv using gaming mode and it works great and consider getting a LED tv that's 120Hz

Slugbait

Elite Member
Oct 9, 1999