Trying to backup W8

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by lakedude, Jan 31, 2013.

  1. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I tried using the W7 style "image" backup and it failed to work with the destination being the "D:" partition crabbing about a lack of space (which was not true, there was plenty of room).

    The laptop in question has a 750GB HD. I have a 1TB USB3 drive which was sure to have enough room for a backup, correct?

    Tried to do a backup and it failed again for a second time. Once again the program claims there is not enough room to do the backup. WTH?
     
  2. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Pardus

    Pardus Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    8,107
    Likes Received:
    12
    or use free 3rd party alternatives, such as todo or macrium
     
  4. lopri

    lopri Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    11,661
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes, save yourself headaches and use a 3rd party tool. I have tried Windows built-in image backups but they never worked. Couldn't figure out why, except to assume the condition for a success must be very limited.
     
  5. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, same here. Had "Drive Image" back in the day, loved it. Never liked "Ghost" all that much... Guess I gotta learn the new game...

    People were talking about how 3rd party is not needed, use W7 or W8 built instead. Can't prove it by me. 1st time I ever try to use built in and it fails in a big way. There is only 55GB of stuff to back up on a 1000GB drive and the OS can't do it. Crazy!

    With compression there should only be about 30GB of free space needed yet 1TB isn't enough!!

    Shakes head, goes to bed...
     
  6. readymix

    readymix Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    1
    seen that or something similar a few times. disappointing considering in w7 i never had issues with "create a system image". it has at times worked for me with consecutive retries but not always. i've since started using the set up backup option, it creates 2 containers, a file & folders image and a system image with good success. it's handy but after i'm happy with my config i move to regular backups with 3rd party.
     
  7. birthdaymonkey

    birthdaymonkey Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been using the built in image tools for a while now. I've successfully backed up and restored with the Windows 7 tool many times (although there is a bug that requires switching to IDE in your BIOS before doing a restore unless you want it to take days).

    I recently upgraded to Win 8. After I had my core programs installed, I did make an image (although it took me a few minutes to find the option since it's now buried in a weird place in the control panel). I didn't have any problems, although my OS drive (SSD) is much smaller than OP's.
     
  8. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got er done!

    Downloaded Macrium Reflect FREE Edition and once started the backup was done in 16 minutes.

    Getting the recovery CD to work was a bit of a challenge.

    The CD would not boot in EUFI mode so that needed to be changed to Legacy in the BIOS.

    Once booted the OS would not recognize the external USB HD if plugged in after the system was up.

    Naturally I tried to boot with the USB HD plugged in but the system would not boot with drive plugged in.

    It seems the trick is to plug it in once the Linux boot options are showing...

    Anyway it finally works! Intel i7 ATI GTX-670m MSI laptop is finally backed up.
     
Loading...