Troubleshooting My Deceased Conroe System ...

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by Midnight Rambler, Nov 28, 2012.

  1. Midnight Rambler

    Midnight Rambler Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    4,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Scenario : System won't POST, no beeps, no fans, no nothing ...

    Relevant Specs :

    Core 2 Duo E6600
    Gigabyte EP35-DS3R

    Tried so far :

    1. Removed CMOS battery; then replaced CMOS battery with new one
    2. Multiple good PSU's - incl. 2 Corsairs (rebadged SS's); swapped cords just for fun
    3. Multiple good kits of RAM; I have several of these 2 GB kits, tried diff slot arrangements
    4. Two good vid cards
    5. Removed HSF (Zerotherm BT92 (?) "butterfly" + MX-2). All looked OK, even after almost 5 years. Cleaned everything and re-pasted.

    I don't have a spare CPU or mobo to swap those components IN/OUT. Is there anything I missed that doesn't require these swap-outs ??? No visible damage of any kind to the mobo, physical or electrical.

    Thanks ...
     
  2. denis280

    denis280 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3,295
    Likes Received:
    1
    Power button.?
     
  3. Arcanedeath

    Arcanedeath Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2000
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    0
    could be a grounding issue, try just the board, cpu, 1 stick of ram, and the video card outside the case on some cardboard or a static bag and see what happens with a known good psu.
     
  4. RadiclDreamer

    RadiclDreamer Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, try removing the lead that goes to the power button and just short it with a screwdriver, makes sure your switch isnt kaput.
     
  5. Midnight Rambler

    Midnight Rambler Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    4,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the suggestions so far, but no go.

    This new system is in the case that the E6600 system was in, so the switch is definitely OK. Although I can't believe I forgot to check it ... well, I guess I just checked it the hard way.

    Also, good on any ground issue. The bare necessities of the system are set up on a static mat on my workbench.

    I really had thought it was a CMOS problem initially. Now I think I probably have a dead mobo. Haven't seen too many bad CPU's and this one was babied most of the time.

    Where to get a P35 board ...
     
  6. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree with your assessment. Haven't seen a bad CPU since the Cyrix days... Most likely MB issue.