Troubleshooting My Deceased Conroe System ...

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by Midnight Rambler, Nov 28, 2012.

  1. Midnight Rambler

    Midnight Rambler Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    4,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Scenario : System won't POST, no beeps, no fans, no nothing ...

    Relevant Specs :

    Core 2 Duo E6600
    Gigabyte EP35-DS3R

    Tried so far :

    1. Removed CMOS battery; then replaced CMOS battery with new one
    2. Multiple good PSU's - incl. 2 Corsairs (rebadged SS's); swapped cords just for fun
    3. Multiple good kits of RAM; I have several of these 2 GB kits, tried diff slot arrangements
    4. Two good vid cards
    5. Removed HSF (Zerotherm BT92 (?) "butterfly" + MX-2). All looked OK, even after almost 5 years. Cleaned everything and re-pasted.

    I don't have a spare CPU or mobo to swap those components IN/OUT. Is there anything I missed that doesn't require these swap-outs ??? No visible damage of any kind to the mobo, physical or electrical.

    Thanks ...
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Troubleshooting Deceased Conroe Forum Date
    Completed Build Error Troubleshooting (Q-Codes) Computer Help Jan 5, 2017
    Looking for a second opinion/confirmation about my potatoe Computer Help Dec 10, 2016
    Help troubleshooting Sapphire R9 390 instability and crashes Computer Help Oct 9, 2016
    Troubleshooting display driver resets and lockups Computer Help Aug 30, 2016
    Help needed with failed new Conroe build Computer Help Nov 20, 2006

  3. denis280

    denis280 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3,395
    Likes Received:
    4
    Power button.?
     
  4. Arcanedeath

    Arcanedeath Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2000
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    0
    could be a grounding issue, try just the board, cpu, 1 stick of ram, and the video card outside the case on some cardboard or a static bag and see what happens with a known good psu.
     
  5. RadiclDreamer

    RadiclDreamer Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Messages:
    8,498
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, try removing the lead that goes to the power button and just short it with a screwdriver, makes sure your switch isnt kaput.
     
  6. Midnight Rambler

    Midnight Rambler Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    4,200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the suggestions so far, but no go.

    This new system is in the case that the E6600 system was in, so the switch is definitely OK. Although I can't believe I forgot to check it ... well, I guess I just checked it the hard way.

    Also, good on any ground issue. The bare necessities of the system are set up on a static mat on my workbench.

    I really had thought it was a CMOS problem initially. Now I think I probably have a dead mobo. Haven't seen too many bad CPU's and this one was babied most of the time.

    Where to get a P35 board ...
     
  7. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    1
    I agree with your assessment. Haven't seen a bad CPU since the Cyrix days... Most likely MB issue.