• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

Tools like SetFSB for Windows 8.1

MrDarkwraith

Junior Member
Aug 14, 2017
9
0
11
I have a proprietary motherboard which means I can't overclock through BIOS, back on Windows 7, I used SetFSB to overclock to 3GHz. Unfortunately on 7, my graphics drivers crashed, so I upgraded to 10. 10 ran awfully so I then went to 8.1. Unfortunately, SetFSB doesn't work on Windows 8.1, so now I'm asking for help

System:
Q6700
5GB DDR2
GTX 560

not the strongest but I had 140$
 

Billb2

Diamond Member
Mar 25, 2005
3,035
70
86
It runs on Win 10.
I only ran 8.1 for a few days but never tried SetFSB on it.

Are you sure an AV program isn't blocking/deleting it?
 

Dufus

Senior member
Sep 20, 2010
675
119
101
Runs Okay for me on W8.1 but obviously don't have an onboard PLL chip


Did you extract the driver(s) too? What error do you get?
 

Dufus

Senior member
Sep 20, 2010
675
119
101
Doesn't do anything meaning you cannot set clocks or doesn't even show up on the desktop? x86 or x64?
 

Dufus

Senior member
Sep 20, 2010
675
119
101
And you have the same PLL selected, chipset inf installed, especially smbus

RWEverything has a clock gen button you could try also but would require setting registers manually to change clock.

Just saw the vid, try using HPET if not already in case it's using the CPU clock for timing.

bcdedit /set useplatformclock yes

Reboot
 
Last edited:

MrDarkwraith

Junior Member
Aug 14, 2017
9
0
11
And you have the same PLL selected, chipset inf installed, especially smbus

RWEverything has a clock gen button you could try also but would require setting registers manually to change clock.

Just saw the vid, try using HPET if not already in case it's using the CPU clock for timing.

bcdedit /set useplatformclock yes

Reboot
I just tried to use RWEverything.
What the fuck is that?
Also what program am I supposed to use with HPET
And I just wanted alternatives to SetFSB, not all this stuff!
 

Dufus

Senior member
Sep 20, 2010
675
119
101
No program for HPET, it's a Windows command line to use a fixed clock for measurement and not the CPU clock which you are changing.

Open a "Command Prompt" (admin) and enter

bcdedit /set useplatformclock yes

then reboot and try again.

The clock is changing just that you don't see it because you are also changing the reference clock to measure it ;)
 

Billb2

Diamond Member
Mar 25, 2005
3,035
70
86
I'm sure but what have you done to get it to work on Win10?
It's Win 10 with the all the latest uodates Just installed, chose correct PLL, and it runs just fine.
I even run it from a batch file:

start "" "C:/Program Files\CPUID\CPU-Z\cpuz.exe"
start "" "C:\Program Files (x86)\SpeedFan\speedfan.exe"
start "" "C:\Users\Bill\Desktop\Overclock\Throttle Stop\ThrottleStop.exe"
Rem Sets Computer To 3.0 GHz
START C:\Users\Bill\Desktop\Utilities\setfsb\setfsb.exe -s376 -p115
 

MrDarkwraith

Junior Member
Aug 14, 2017
9
0
11
No program for HPET, it's a Windows command line to use a fixed clock for measurement and not the CPU clock which you are changing.

Open a "Command Prompt" (admin) and enter

bcdedit /set useplatformclock yes

then reboot and try again.

The clock is changing just that you don't see it because you are also changing the reference clock to measure it ;)
IT WORKED THANK YOU
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS