To those who crunch on overclocked rigs

dkm777

Nov 21, 2010
I figured this would be a better place to ask since CPU is mostly AMD trolling nowadays. If you crunch on an overclocked rig how long did it take for your processor to degrade? I don't crunch 24/7, but crunch pretty often nonetheless and after updating F@H client to the latest version I had to bump the voltage of my i7 980@4GHz ever so slightly. This makes me wonder - is my processor showing first signs of degradation or was that just the latest F@H being more picky? I've been running this rig for two years already and I figured with all the scary stories it was about time to see degradation.

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
I don't run my CPUs at extreme temp or voltage, so I've never experienced degradation on my own gear. I did see a friend's E5200 degrade slightly, after running at 1.425v (BIOS) for a few years.

ZipSpeed

Golden Member
Aug 13, 2007
I'm not an extreme overclocking either. I basically overclock as far as I can on stock voltage. Sometimes I get lucky and I can undervolt. My two gems in my collection of crunchers are my 970 @ 3.9 GHz running at 1.2V and my 3770K @ 4.2 GHz running at 1.1V. The rest run around stock voltage.

Drsignguy

Platinum Member
Mar 24, 2002
I have oc'ed all my rigs and ran them 24/7 for a long time and while I did that, no signs of degrading at all. Although I must mention, I did not over volt nor did I push the extreme out of any of my cpu's or vid cards. Now, I have set all back to default levels and run only 2 rigs (for now). F@H can show crazy things to your setup if you don't have it properly over clocked. Personally, I think it's is a hell of a stress test.

By you bumping up the voltage, doesn't seem strange at all. I had to do that to most my rigs when I oc'ed them while running F@H. Prime passed but when I ran a work unit of F@H, failed. Had to bump the volts up just a tick and all worked just fine.

Kougar

Apr 25, 2002