to get cable modem or not...

Soybomb

Diamond Member
Jun 30, 2000
Lemme see if you guys think I should get a cable modem! First I'm a student in the local community college, and this summer I move off to go to "real college." I make appx $400 a month doing my trivial job and have bills totaling about $150. I've been stuck at 28.8 forever and cable modems are just about to be available in my town (not roadrunner or @home either hehe) for the price of $50 a month for 256k downstream. Right now I would have no problem spending that $50 a month for the service, but in a few months I'm gonna be into heavy heavy bills with rent for a place to live and "real college." I know I'm gonna have to rely mostly on loans for college since my savings was quite depleted due to car problems. Do I sock that extra $30 a month (I pay $20 for dialup) away so thats another say $200 dollars for a place to live. Or do I just say "whats another $200 of debt?" Let me know what you guys think I should do, I'm leaning heavily toward the go for it side right now :)

RSI

Diamond Member
May 22, 2000
Man trust me, you don't want to start off your life in debt. This really sounds like a bad idea to me, I'd say don't get cable. $50/month is absolutely ridiculous for cable internet. It's $29.95 (canadian) here.

DO NOT DO IT!

Viperoni

Lifer
Jan 4, 2000
It's $40 Canadian in the GTA (Greater Toronto Area)
Lousy Quebec, always gets good deal ;p

heh he j/k

but for your situation, sounds like you'd be better off not getting it, especially if your car keeps on acting up :(

Soybomb

Diamond Member
Jun 30, 2000
Thats the thing though, I'm going to have to go into debt with student loans or I dont get to go to college hehe. So if I have to go in, will that make a huge difference......