Timing belt problems?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SearchMaster

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2002
Car: 1998 Honda Accord EX, 2.2L 4cyl, 260K miles

The car is rarely driven now, but was a little overdue for a new timing belt/water pump. I do simple service and repair but this is out of my comfort zone. My wife took it a friend of hers who is no longer a mechanic by trade but has done hundreds of these in his past life as one. One thing to note: while the car is 17 years old and has over a quarter million miles, just about every person who has driven or ridden in it has commented on how smooth and well kept the car is. It has always had a very smooth ride and engine.

I went with my wife to pick it up and immediately noticed a change when I started it. It idled with a great deal of vibration and noise. Acceleration only exacerbated the problem...more noise, more vibration. We drove about a mile to have breakfast and after I voiced my concerns, she took it back to him.

I told her to have him check the front motor mount because I was pretty sure you had to remove it to do the TB service. He went ahead and replaced the FMM but said the timing belt was fine, and she drove it home that evening. She felt like it idled much better but said acceleration was still "off".

I drove it the following day (yesterday) and would agree with her assessment. It idles pretty much normally now but the acceleration is still noticeably harsher than it used to be. It doesn't sound like the engine is about to blow up or anything like that, just noisier with vibration.

Maybe the tensioner?

gururu2

Oct 14, 2007
I had a TB snap in my 95 integra at a stop light and it flat died. Don't know how it feels if it lost some teeth or something. I got into a habit of switching the belt(s) and WP out every 50k myself. Its not a hard job (the second time LOL). Could it be more along the lines of your fuel injectors?

jlee

Lifer
Sep 12, 2001