Thinkpad T60, 64 bit OS or 32 bit?

Discussion in 'SFF, Notebooks, Pre-Built/Barebones PCs' started by jediphx, Jun 19, 2009.

  1. jediphx

    jediphx Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know generally you want 4 gigs of ram before you use XP 64 or Vista 64 bit. With the laptop specs below would the 64 bit OS still run nicely?

    IBM Thinkpad T60 T7200 Core 2 Duo (2GHz)
    2 GB RAM
    80GB 5400rpm HD
    15in 1400x1050 LCD
    64MB ATI Radeon X1300
    CDRW/DVD
    Intel 802.11abg wireless
    ATI X1300 64 meg,
     
  2. skriefal

    skriefal Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, the 64-bit versions of XP and Vista will run fine on your laptop, or at least as well as the comparable 32-bit versions. The "4GB" number that is commonly thrown out is referring to the fact that if you have 4GB or more (really, about 3.5GB or more) of RAM then you'll need a 64-bit operating system to make all of the RAM useable. On systems with less than 3.5GB of RAM there is less incentive to use a 64-bit operating system due to scarcity of 64-bit software. But a 64-bit O/S will still work fine.
     
  3. JaYp146

    JaYp146 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    An x64 operating system will fly on that hardware. I'd opt for Windows 7 x64, personally.
     
  4. xSauronx

    xSauronx Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    19,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    i had one of those

    ran 64 bit ubuntu great. i wouldnt bother with xp, but 64 vista/7 would do fine on it, im certain.
     
  5. corkyg

    corkyg Elite Member<br>Super Moderator <br>Peripherals
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2000
    Messages:
    25,948
    Likes Received:
    10
    It will play nicely. Then you can really enhance it by adding 2 more GB of RAM and replacing the 5400 drive with a 7200. 64 bit is the future. 32 bit is yesterday's news.
     
  6. Wuzup101

    Wuzup101 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,136
    Likes Received:
    1
    I wouldn't go with anything other than a 64bit OS currently. Since ram and hard drives are cheap... get 4gb of ram and a 7200rpm hdd (WD makes a nice scorpio black 320gb for 79.99) as your first two upgrades!
     
  7. skriefal

    skriefal Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    The T60 is limited to 3GB of addressable RAM, as is any system with an Intel 945-series chipset. You can install two 2GB sticks to get a small performance boost from dual-channel memory access, but only the first 3GB will be useable. This is true even with a 64-bit O/S.
     
  8. jediphx

    jediphx Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2000
    Messages:
    2,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks I currently have Windows 7 64 bit Build 7231 on it now with 2 gigs of ram. It runs fine but It still feels kinda sluggish. Might be the 5400 rpm HD or maybe I should try Vista 64 bit
     
  9. ELopes580

    ELopes580 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,861
    Likes Received:
    1
    +1. I can confirm this as I have a T60 and have 2x2GB sodimms installed. I only have 3GB addressable. If you ever can, install a 7200 rpm HDD and you'll be good for 64bit OS.
     
Loading...