Thinking about changing my Major

S Freud

Diamond Member
Apr 25, 2005
Currently I am pursuing a B.S. in Psychology, I had planned on going all the way to getting my doctorate.

However when I look at how much work it is to balance a full time job, school, and try to have a life it becomes more of a realization that I don't think I can make it all the way to doctorate school.

People have also been telling me that a BS in Psychology will get me nothing, I know that I at least need to get a masters to even be looked at, which is something I had always planned to do.

Some other majors I am considering changing to:

Marketing: business seems like a good way to go and I do enjoy creating ads and brainstorming things related.

Industrial Engineering: the problem with this is I'm not very good at math and I don't like math very much.

Constructional, Environmental, Civil Engineering: See above reasons

I guess really I don't know what I want to do anymore, Psychology just doesn't seem like the way to go anymore. And I don't want to leave college with a useless degree, I enjoy Psychology but if its not a secure field then obviously its not something I want to enter.

Any helpful advice from people that have been in a similar situation would be much appreciated.

mercanucaribe

Banned
Oct 20, 2004
Why do you have a fulltime job? Try getting loans and working part time. Your time is worth more now than the money will be worth once you've started your career.

In any case, look at other careers. You may not get much useful advice on this forum, because people here only know engineering, programming, IT, etc.

I majored in geography and graduated last May. I've been an intern at Yellowstone for the past 5 months, and now I"m trying to find a job, which shouldn't be a problem. Yet most people have no idea that geography is a major.

AnthroAndStargate

Golden Member
Oct 7, 2005