There needs to be fewer loans offered to students

kranky

Elite Member
Oct 9, 1999
College tuition continues to increase at twice the rate of inflation, and there are no signs it's slowing down. And there's no need for colleges to worry about raising tuition, since students just keep taking out bigger loans to pay for college.

When I talk to new hires and hear they are $40K or even more in debt I can't believe it. No one should end up in debt for decades just to get a degree. The fact that people can borrow just about unlimited amounts of money for tuition is not helping the students. The people who benefit are the colleges. They can keep raising prices at an above-average rate because there is no resistance from their customers.

My alma mater, for the first time since I graduated, is not getting a donation from me this year. They are spending millions to build fancy apartments near campus. They say they need more student housing. Fine. Build basic student housing at 25% of the cost instead of an apartment complex. Quit doing things that drive up the cost for no good reason.

They replace the hundreds of PCs in the computer labs every two years. Waste. They spent half a million dollars to renovate the outside of one of the buildings so it was more modern looking. Waste. They all do it because they can.

After the rant, two questions for students: Do you know how much of your income it will cost you to repay your loans after you start working? And do you put a limit on how much debt you will take on for college?

DaShen

Lifer
Dec 1, 2000
Agreed for sure. It is ridiculous that there is no cap on Higher Education costs. I mean in some countries, higher education is free.

ElFenix

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Mar 20, 2000
i'm about 100K in debt as it sit here right now :thumbsup:

JS80

Lifer
Oct 24, 2005
my friend paid $200k to go to Harvard and got a $200k job right out of it. i'd say it was worth it for him.

Slew Foot

Lifer
Sep 22, 2005