"The RAM wall", and obsolescence

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by VirtualLarry, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    35,800
    Likes Received:
    615
    I've been doing a little bit of thinking about this, and have come to the conclusion, that for NON-GAMING tasks, what really makes computers become obsolete, is often not the CPU, but the total RAM capacity that the hardware will handle, relative to the needs of the OS and software run on it.

    For example, lets look at the Pentium III CPU. You could likely, in theory, run Win7 32-bit on it, if only if the motherboard/chipset in question would support enough RAM.

    Modern web browsing also takes a lot of RAM. As well as CPU. (Assume that in the case of the P3, we have installed a flash- and ad-blocker.)
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - wall obsolescence Forum Date
    The Megaprocessor ... 51k worth of wall candy CPUs and Overclocking Jul 13, 2016
    4770k auto - OC 4.4GHz at a wall? CPUs and Overclocking Dec 14, 2013
    CPU Thermal wall? So much for the GHz race. CPUs and Overclocking Jul 23, 2013
    GA EX58 UD5 QPI wall CPUs and Overclocking Mar 2, 2012

  3. Fx1

    Fx1 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    ever heard of 64 bit
     
  4. Lonyo

    Lonyo Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    21,939
    Likes Received:
    1
    Welcome to the concept of the "fast enough" computer.
    You also forgot the I/O bottleneck from HDDs, which is reduced significantly my SSDs.
     
  5. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    35,800
    Likes Received:
    615
    That has nothing to do with what I wrote. All physical motherboards have RAM limitations, and those limitations have nothing to do with the ISA limitations of the CPU or lack thereof.

    For example, modern 4-slot Socket 1155 motherboards max out at 32GB of RAM.

    Whereas, even older 32-bit "big" servers that supported PAE could address more than that, logically-speaking.
     
  6. ShintaiDK

    ShintaiDK Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20,385
    Likes Received:
    118
    Actually you could have at least 128GB in 4 dimms. Its nothing but an artificial product limit in the (lower) CPUs. So not sure what the point actually is.

    The same servers you mention that could handle up to 64GB. They can now today handle up to 4096GB.
     
  7. deathBOB

    deathBOB Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    5
    I thought lazy programmers made computers obsolete?
     
  8. tynopik

    tynopik Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,011
    Likes Received:
    37
    no consumer computer supports 128GB

    and the point is that ram limitations are often the reason that a system becomes obsolete, more than CPUs nowadays.

    like how i was ok with my Q6600, but needed more than the 8gb my p5k supported

    which is why i did not buy a consumer computer to replace it
     
    #7 tynopik, Jan 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  9. tynopik

    tynopik Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,011
    Likes Received:
    37
    It is easy to upgrade older systems with SSDs

    RAM however has a hard limit
     
  10. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    35,800
    Likes Received:
    615
    Thanks, you get my point.
     
  11. Homeles

    Homeles Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this still an issue? AFAIK, RAM usage doesn't seem to be massively spiraling upwards. Windows 8, for instance, uses less RAM than its predecessor.

    Processors these days all have integrated memory controllers that are more than capable of accepting higher amounts of memory than any consumer would ever need to worry about saturating. If a consumer needs more memory, they don't need to go out and buy a new computer; they just need to upgrade their RAM.
     
    #10 Homeles, Jan 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  12. ShintaiDK

    ShintaiDK Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20,385
    Likes Received:
    118
    RAM limitations is rarely the reason.

    There are 32GB DIMMs, hence my answer.
     
  13. tynopik

    tynopik Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,011
    Likes Received:
    37
    fine, let's play semantics

    it's a SYSTEM limitation on the amount of RAM

    again, no consumer system supports 32GB DIMMS.

    what's your point?
     
    #12 tynopik, Jan 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  14. ShintaiDK

    ShintaiDK Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20,385
    Likes Received:
    118
    It was an answer to the OP.
     
  15. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    35,800
    Likes Received:
    615
    where??? Newegg doesn't carry any.

    Edit: Apparently Newegg does carry one 16GB DIMM and one 32GB DIMM, but they are registered (server memory).

    My OP was talking about CONSUMER DESKTOPS.
     
    #14 VirtualLarry, Jan 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  16. tynopik

    tynopik Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,011
    Likes Received:
    37
    it's possible, but it's not just the OS, it's also the amount and types of apps people run

    current (consumer) systems support up to 32GB of ram, perhaps that will be enough for most consumers in the future

    but 8GB felt extravagant when 775 came out and look where we are now . . .
     
  17. Homeles

    Homeles Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    HP sells them. They cost an arm, a leg, your first born child and your daughter's virginity, though.
     
  18. tynopik

    tynopik Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,011
    Likes Received:
    37
    i don't think you understand what the OP said.
     
  19. ShintaiDK

    ShintaiDK Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20,385
    Likes Received:
    118
    #18 ShintaiDK, Jan 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  20. zCypher

    zCypher Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,981
    Likes Received:
    24
    While you have a point, technically, I haven't been impacted by this limitation in a real world way. My first recent build with Win7 was more than fine with 4GB DDR2 RAM (and that was actually the limit of that board I believe). I replaced that with my current system, I went with 16GB because RAM was cheap. I don't think I've seen my RAM exceed 7.6GB in use except when I was tinkering with a RAM drive. It's always between 3.5GB to 7.6GB though in Win8. I usually have a VM running though, which I give 4GB.

    With my current usage I can't imagine needing more RAM, so my motherboard being limited to 16GB really isn't an issue for me. By the time I need more than 16GB of RAM, the rest of my system will be obsolete too. I'll want a faster SSD, faster processor, better motherboard with standards of its time (SATA4, USB4, or whatever), etc etc. I don't really see the rest of the computer as being any more future-proof than the RAM configuration.
     
    #19 zCypher, Jan 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  21. Homeles

    Homeles Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    The vast majority of which do not even come close to using up 8GB, combined with the OS. Power web browsing users may come close, but that's the only common use case I can think of.


    We'll saturate it someday, but everything just seems so mobile focused right now that it's pretty much a non-issue for 95%+ percent of us.

    Those have come down in price by quite a bit... maybe it's just an arm and a leg now.
     
  22. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    35,800
    Likes Received:
    615
    Shintai, I'm going to ask you nicely to stop derailing my thread.

    For the record, my point was that CONSUMER DESKTOPS often become obsolete, not because the CPU gets too slow, but because the total SYSTEM RAM CAPACITY gets exceeded during that platform's lifetime.

    The existance of 32GB SERVER DIMMs has no bearing on my argument.

    Edit: I suppose it would modify my argument slightly, if, during a particular platform's lifetime, the size of available DIMMs ranged from 2GB all the way up to 32GB. Perhaps that is the hypothetical argument you wanted to make.

    Building platforms, that supported that much of a variable-sized DIMM, would definitely make a lot of sense for future-proofing, and reducing e-waste.

    I'm afraid that Intel might see it in their best interest, in order to keep people upgrading platforms and not just CPUs, to limit the possibilities for exansion of RAM on any particular platform.
     
    #21 VirtualLarry, Jan 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  23. Ferzerp

    Ferzerp Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 1999
    Messages:
    6,176
    Likes Received:
    7
    This isn't the memory subforum.
     
  24. Torn Mind

    Torn Mind Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    30
    RAM becomes an issue when you don't have enough of it and that in turn results in the computer using the hard drive as virtual RAM, dragging the experience to a literal crawl. Right now, 4 GB is plenty for those who like to web browse and not much else, i.e Facebook, watch porn all day, etc
     
  25. skipsneeky2

    skipsneeky2 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your a compulsive wanker and have the habit of having tons of tabs open,4gb just might not be enough in this case.:)
     
  26. Barfo

    Barfo Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    27,207
    Likes Received:
    160
    I don't think running Windows 7 in a PIII would be a pretty thing, even if you had 8 GB of RAM in it.