The Public Option

TalonStrike

Nov 5, 2010
I know the Dems failed to include this into the health care law, but one thing makes no sense. Obama said something like, you would not lose your doctor with the public option. How can that possibly be true? Say I'm a small business owner who provides health care benefits to my employees. Then the public option is introduced, and as a smart business man, I cut my employee's health care benefits, since they can just use the public option instead. Those people would have different coverage, and therefore would have a different doctor. The government wouldn't directly assign you a new doctor, but that would be the indirect effect of the policy. How can Dems possibly refute this?

Jan 25, 2011
I know the Dems failed to include this into the health care law, but one thing makes no sense. Obama said something like, you would not lose your doctor with the public option. How can that possibly be true? Say I'm a small business owner who provides health care benefits to my employees. Then the public option is introduced, and as a smart business man, I cut my employee's health care benefits, since they can just use the public option instead. Those people would have different coverage, and therefore would have a different doctor. The government wouldn't directly assign you a new doctor, but that would be the indirect effect of the policy. How can Dems possibly refute this?

Exactly... When completely misrepresented in the manner you've done how could anyone disagree...

Jan 25, 2011
how exactly was anything I said a misrepresentation?

It ignores so much. Your employer decides to switch insurers you could lose your doctor too if they're not "approved". Happens all the time. And the original intent was to include disincentives to employers to prevent dropping coverage. Also 70-75% of doctors support a public option and it assumse the doctor for a person in your scenario is not participating in the public option.....