Info The Intel ARC A750 LE and A380 Blog (and general Arc owners' thread). 55 games tested and counting. Hulk's results with Topaz and deeplink added.

Page 6 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

GodisanAtheist

Diamond Member
Nov 16, 2006
6,541
6,739
136
Well, it's definitely not impossible.
View attachment 84798

-AMD and Intel punching above their weight class here. Wonder if we're going to see more of that with UE5 games (although it certainly isn't universal).
 

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator CPU Forum Mod and Elite Member
Super Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
27,994
19,014
146
If I recall correctly from earlier this year, NE sent a code and then you redeem it for the steam/store codes on the intel site. I think Epic games was just copy/paste a code, same with Steam but I think you had to sign into your ubisoft/uplay account.
Newegg emailed me tracking for the A380 and the master key for the games. Along with the Intel link posted above. Looks like it may do the qualifying product scan the same way AMD does. I'll redeem the games on my A750 system.

Cool that they gave a 150MHz boost to the A380.

The latest WHQL driver package included an HDMI firmware update. I haven't experienced the issue with the spontaneous reboot and CSM being turned back on since. Hopefully that was the fix for it.
 

Tup3x

Senior member
Dec 31, 2016
930
916
136
Newegg emailed me tracking for the A380 and the master key for the games. Along with the Intel link posted above. Looks like it may do the qualifying product scan the same way AMD does. I'll redeem the games on my A750 system.

Cool that they gave a 150MHz boost to the A380.

The latest WHQL driver package included an HDMI firmware update. I haven't experienced the issue with the spontaneous reboot and CSM being turned back on since. Hopefully that was the fix for it.
By the way, that was a driver bug and latest drivers fixed it (reporting issue, not real apparently).
 

Ranulf

Platinum Member
Jul 18, 2001
2,292
1,077
136
Newegg emailed me tracking for the A380 and the master key for the games. Along with the Intel link posted above. Looks like it may do the qualifying product scan the same way AMD does. I'll redeem the games on my A750 system.

Cool that they gave a 150MHz boost to the A380.

The latest WHQL driver package included an HDMI firmware update. I haven't experienced the issue with the spontaneous reboot and CSM being turned back on since. Hopefully that was the fix for it.

The 770 didn't require a product scan for me.
 

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator CPU Forum Mod and Elite Member
Super Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
27,994
19,014
146
The ASRock A380 is certainly a basic card, and it runs quiet. It locked up loading 3Dmark when I tried increasing the clockspeed, even with the wattage slider all the way up to the max 66W. Using the latest beta drivers released a couple of days ago.

I put it in the 5600 setup from the OP, that the A750 was in. So most the games are already optimized for ARC. Plays GTA5 and Fallout 4 1080 custom settings enjoyably. I will see how it does with Spiderman Miles Morales using XeSS next.
 

Hans Gruber

Platinum Member
Dec 23, 2006
2,064
1,041
136
The Sparkle A750 that I received is a dud. The thermal paste missed the GPU in the factory. I get temps up to 81C. The 3x fan version runs 56-58C under full gaming load according to reviews. I figure the 2 fan version should run 3-5C above that at most. The card is top notch build quality. I cannot remove the heatsink because there is a void if removed sticker on the backplate on one of the screws. Even at the high temps while gaming the card does not throttle.

So I am a bit sad about the entire situation. I will use it for a few more days before sending it back. Less demanding games run 75-80C.
 

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator CPU Forum Mod and Elite Member
Super Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
27,994
19,014
146
That's a bummer. At least you aren't reporting the coil whine the only review on Newegg complained about. Going for a refund or replacement?
 

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator CPU Forum Mod and Elite Member
Super Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
27,994
19,014
146
Spiderman MM is a good time on the A380.
  1. 1080p XeSS quality
  2. Vsync on
  3. Medium traffic and crowds
  4. Shadows low
  5. Vignette, motion blur, chromatic aberration all off
  6. SSAO
  7. Medium on everything else
  8. Particle effects low
Drops to the 40s but still smooth. I loaded a save where it's snowing, and another after you complete the main game. Both play no issues. Miles gets a little bit of a very thin white outline around him from certain angles due to XeSS.

This game is so CPU heavy with ray tracing on, that the 5600 at 4.65GHz is bottlenecking an A380 👀 When you are near or on the streets downtown, the GPU utilization drops as low as the 70s while the CPU is in the 80s. Fighting thugs in central park on the frozen ice with RT reflections ran well however.

Played about half hour on the completed game save, without RT reflections and it is fully playable with the listed settings. Looks good, not great, but I could play like this no complaints if it's all I had. At which point I'd probably turn everything to medium with RT reflections on half refresh rate for a console like experience. Because you get all of the enemy classes at that point in the game and the fights are intense. Like when the 2 factions are battling at an intersection with armored vehicles. Using venom powers and everyone shooting and throwing grenades and all the other effects is pure chaos. The little A380 has no trouble keeping it over 30fps.

It runs cool and quiet. Never broke 70 celsius, and I could barely hear the system running from 10ft away. I have it on silent fan profile. Love that the power usage never breaks 55W.

The vram reporting bug is still there in afterburner. It says it's allocating over 8GB sometimes, but the used doesn't quite hit the 6GB limit even with RT. Maybe at native 1080p it would.

I will have to test with my tiny RX 6400, as I think it'll run out of VRAM at the settings the A380 can play at. My guess is that the ray traced reflections will be completely unplayable on the AMD card too. FSR 2.1 looks OK but XeSS looks better IMO.
 

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator CPU Forum Mod and Elite Member
Super Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
27,994
19,014
146
Aussie Steve puts ARC A750 against 7600 and 4060. Does a good job for a $200 card. Some game engines clearly need work. Hogwarts and Last of Us are a mess. Has to be more gas in the tank than we are seeing.

The games that have issues, extend to the ray tracing, so it's likely something Intel can improve with driver optimizations. Time will tell.

 

Aapje

Golden Member
Mar 21, 2022
1,256
1,683
96
It's getting to the point where Intel might actually be able to bring out a product that can sell at a price that doesn't make them a loss, if Battlemage has decent hardware. With the obscene profit margins of Nvidia and the stagnant 7000 cards from AMD, even a somewhat mediocre product could do well.
 
Feb 4, 2009
34,381
15,600
136
It's getting to the point where Intel might actually be able to bring out a product that can sell at a price that doesn't make them a loss, if Battlemage has decent hardware. With the obscene profit margins of Nvidia and the stagnant 7000 cards from AMD, even a somewhat mediocre product could do well.
Yup that’s what I’m thinking ideally I’d like a new card that works great at 2k resolution. Not ready to buy until next year and my hope is battle mage is good enough and priced appropriately. I have zero desire for all the AI features and up scaling stuff.
 

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator CPU Forum Mod and Elite Member
Super Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
27,994
19,014
146
Don't hate on XeSS. At ultra quality and quality it looks really good in the games I have used it. Also lets me use ray tracing without tanking FPS too much.
 
Feb 4, 2009
34,381
15,600
136
Don't hate on XeSS. At ultra quality and quality it looks really good in the games I have used it. Also lets me use ray tracing without tanking FPS too much.
Fair enough and maybe once a I use an upscaler my opinion will change it just seems like a trick or gimmick. Kind of like interlaced screens were or 720P was. Just feels like it’s cheating and something gets lost with the cheat.
You certainly have experienced it and seem to like it. I have none so I could be completely incorrect.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DAPUNISHER

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator CPU Forum Mod and Elite Member
Super Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
27,994
19,014
146
Don't get me wrong, if you can get the fps you want without upscaling then cool. But when you need the help it is a superior solution to lowering the resolution you are playing at from native. E.G. 720p upscaled with XeSS to 1080 looks significantly better than setting that resolution to play at.
 

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator CPU Forum Mod and Elite Member
Super Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
27,994
19,014
146
Apparently it has better quality on the same setting on Intel hardware.
That's been my experience using it in the same game on both AMD and ARC.
 

R81Z3N1

Member
Jul 15, 2017
77
24
81
Hopefully won't shoot my self in foot, but ordered a 16gb Asrock card, just could not pay the 200 dollar 16gb tax other vendors demand. Besides this is going into a kf 12600 system.

With this purchase have now purged all Nvidia cards from my system, run one Win 11 system, and one Linux system, had to down size, just way too many computers. Not long ago gave up a 3800x system with a gtx 1060, now just have to decide what to do with a gtx 1080, and a 1050 as spares.

Do appreciate threads like this, which for me was a factor in my purchase.
 

Dayman1225

Golden Member
Aug 14, 2017
1,146
969
146
Not sure if anyone here has posted any CS2 benchmarks but I got access recently, been playing quite a bit. So decided to do a quick test on the A770 on inferno, the most demanding map in the game so far. 10v10 players. I usually play comp, 5v5 so alot less going on and feels alot smoother. When I am playing comp again I will benchmark that. 1694047108166.png
 

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator CPU Forum Mod and Elite Member
Super Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
27,994
19,014
146
Added your results to the OP. Hope you don't mind.

Waiting on a game patch or new driver before trying Starfield on the A750. Right now it is still too janky.
 

mmaenpaa

Member
Aug 4, 2009
69
117
106
Has anybody tried Intel cards with older systems?

I need to get a new card for one Photshop user as PS2023 version needs DirectX 12_0 feature level support.

I was thinking about Asrock A380 as it is small & has all the needed features, and price is right too :)

I was wondering if missing resizable bar is a problem on "desktop" use (as it is in gaming).
PC in question has Intel i5-6600 processor I am sure there is no support on that bar 🤣
 

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator CPU Forum Mod and Elite Member
Super Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
27,994
19,014
146
I do not know what you can expect with photoshop without rebar on a system that old. If you decide to try it, please update us on how it does.
 

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator CPU Forum Mod and Elite Member
Super Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
27,994
19,014
146
Starfield tested with dIfferent config from OP.
5700G
ASRock B450ITX/ac
2x8GB 4133MT/s
1TB nvme
Latest BETA drivers
win 11 pro fully updated
Game pass version of game

Crashes until I got the settings dialed in. They can be found in the OP. Played at locked 30 but some dips below even with super craptacular settings. Stopped playing when it crashed after almost 2hrs. Played through the Mantis mission and cleared out abandoned mines and factories on other planets.

Had a few rendering issues too. Don't know if it was due to the super low res being upscaled or driver issue.

Prepare your eyes, it's bad

Photo_2023-09-26-115328.png

I will try the XeSS mod to see if it can at least help with quality of upscaling. Who knows if it will be even less stable than FSR.
 
Last edited:
  • Wow
Reactions: GodisanAtheist
Jul 27, 2020
14,776
9,040
106
Played at locked 30 but some dips below even with super craptacular settings.

Summary
Windows 64 fps
Linux 136 fps
This marks the first 'triple a' game that runs twice as fast on linux.

Not sure if things are same with the latest patch on Windows. AMD GPU support on Linux is also better than that for Gefarce cards. Performance could be slightly higher on ArchLinux.