The Gigantopithecus Rough Guide to Budget, Low-end, and Mid-range System Building

Gigantopithecus

Diamond Member
Dec 14, 2004
The Gigantopithecus Rough Guide to Budget, Low-end, and Mid-range System Building – Fall 2010

The old system guide is now about a year out of date so I thought I’d give something back to the AT community which has been an invaluable resource to me over the years.
Note I am not a professional system builder. I have no professional certifications and I don’t do this for a living. I, along with anyone who reads this thread, will appreciate feedback. Disclosure: I have no financial conflicts of interest, so when I recommend the same brands over and over, it's because I like how they've performed for me and my associates in the past, as well as from what I read online.

Also note that I do not cover high-end systems in this guide. I do not build enough high-end computers to be confident that my advice regarding those components is particularly valuable. That said, my idea of high-end is a $1,500 computer not including the monitor. To be honest, if you know you need a high-end computer, it will likely be because you are a niche user, and a rough guide like this isn’t the place for you to get advice.

General advice

1. Buy all of your system’s components at about the same time. No matter how expensive or purportedly high quality your components might be, there is always a chance of receiving a DOA part or having a part fail shortly after assembly. By buying all parts within a short period of time, you can test them all out and if something’s amiss, return them for a replacement. If you wait, and something goes wrong, you’ll need to RMA parts to the manufacturer. This takes longer than returning them to the retailer and you’ll receive back a refurbished part rather than a new part.