The Fasting Thread

The Sauce

Diamond Member
Oct 31, 1999
Didn't see one of these on the forum so here goes. Hopefully this becomes a repository for fasting support and information. I have been fasting intermittently for about 8 years - yes, before it was cool. Fasting is one of the healthiest things you can do. Positive health benefits include:

- weight management
- correct insulin resistance, type 2 diabetes and metabolic syndrome
- dramatically improves growth hormone and body composition
- can be used as a tool to improve muscle mass while losing fat
- activated genetic pathways associated with longevity (AMPk, SIRT)
- decreases cancer risk
- increased BDNF, which is the principal hormone involved in neurogenesis and cognitive function
- decrease risk of Alzheimer's Disease and improves symptoms in those who have it
- improves mitochondrial function and, as a result, energy levels
- improves metabolic rate
- activates autophagy and decreases inflammation caused by senescent cells
- provides you with a sense of self-mastery and changes your relationship with food and eating (i.e. eating becomes optional)

I started with 24 hour fasts. Then I added daily fasting or one-meal-a-day (OMAD). Then I started throwing in 36-48 hour fasts periodically. The longest fast I have gone on so far was 4 days. I really started doing it regularly within the last year. I am now down about 40# and sitting at roughly 14% body fat with ease, for the first time in my adult life. I don't really restrict what I eat except I don't eat garbage (and no sugar).

There are all sorts of different regimens and different ones work for different folks. There are some tips and tricks, and I am happy to coach anyone interested in trying this.

Reactions: DAPUNISHER

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator CPU Forum Mod and Elite Member
Super Moderator
Aug 22, 2001