The difference between memory T1 and T2

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by SpeedZealot369, Feb 12, 2006.

  1. SpeedZealot369

    SpeedZealot369 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, I have a amd64 3200 and a gig of valueram. What's all the fuss about T1? is it worth pushing my valueram for it? gaming difference between the two? appreciate your input.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - difference memory Forum Date
    How much of a difference is there between these 2 memory timings? General Hardware May 22, 2007
    Using multiple memory with different timings General Hardware May 14, 2007
    Questions about using different types of Memory General Hardware May 7, 2007
    The differences between DDR and DDR2 RAM / System Memory General Hardware Mar 22, 2007
    Laptop Memory: Difference between DDR2s? General Hardware Dec 26, 2006

  3. Bobthelost

    Bobthelost Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's been a load of stuff on this if you search a bit (hint the search button does not result in your chair firing you out the window).

    But in short you should be using 1T unless you have 4 sticks of RAM, in which case you're stuck with 2T.
     
  4. deadseasquirrel

    deadseasquirrel Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,736
    Likes Received:
    0
    None whatsoever.
     
  5. alimoalem

    alimoalem Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    4,025
    Likes Received:
    0
    i thought there was a 5% decrease in performance...
     
  6. xtknight

    xtknight Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    12,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    5% in WinRAR which was the maximum hit, if I recall correctly. I'm running 4x512MB 2T and I've noticed nothing but great speed boosts from 2x512MB 1T.
     
  7. stevty2889

    stevty2889 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    7,032
    Likes Received:
    0
    2T usualy makes a very small differance, around 3-5%. I did take a 7.5% performance hit with AutoGK. But if you are running programs that take more than 1gb of ram, going to 4x512mb sticks @2T will still give a performance boots, over 2x512 @1T.
     
  8. deadseasquirrel

    deadseasquirrel Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,736
    Likes Received:
    0
    Feel free to test it yourself, though I could see anywhere in the 1-5% range being within the acceptable deviation for such a test. Simply run a game benchmark-- the FEAR test is good simply because it's easy to reproduce, and I'm not much of a fan of the 3dmark series.

    Note all the scores, go into your BIOS, change to 2T, and rerun the test. After you've done that, play around with some other settings too. Drop ram to 333mhz, underclock your CPU, etc. Rerun the test again. You may surprise yourself with how little RAM and CPU affect gaming with some of these new titles, depending on what graphical settings you play at.
     
  9. orangat

    orangat Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,579
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    11,375
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. deadseasquirrel

    deadseasquirrel Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,736
    Likes Received:
    0
    :thumbsup:

    If you're interested in only gaming, and if you plan to use resolutions at or around 1600x1200 with some AA and AF, you can throw in the slowest ram you can find, run it at 2T, and match it with a Sempron.... what really matters with today's games like FEAR and COD2 is the video card.