Tether Laptop to Desktop for Wifi

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by Prince of Persia, Apr 16, 2009.

  1. Prince of Persia

    Prince of Persia Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to anyone who can help me out. I want to tether my laptop to my desktop so that my desktop could use the wifi of my laptop in order to gain access to my wifi internet (the router is upstairs).

    Any ideas on how to set this up?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Billb2

    Billb2 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,644
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can't be done without adding hardware.
     
  3. ch33zw1z

    ch33zw1z Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    13,851
    Likes Received:
    7
    Enable ICS (Internet Connection Sharing) on your laptop, connect a crossover network cable from your desktop to the laptop.
     
  4. Billb2

    Billb2 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,644
    Likes Received:
    3
    I was going to suggest that, but the OP wants internet access on the desktop, no just the ability to copy things downloaded onto the laptop to the desktop.
     
  5. armstrda

    armstrda Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    ICS enables the internet connection to be shared from the laptop to the PC. The laptop in essence acts as a bridge then.
     
  6. vshah

    vshah Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    18,975
    Likes Received:
    14
    you don't usually need a crossover cable...if the machines are relatively new, the network cards can auto-configure to the type of cable.

    OP, connect a network cable from your laptop to your PC. make sure your PC is set to DHCP.
    go to "network connections" on your laptop. make sure only your ethernet and wifi are enable, disable the rest.
    right click on your wifi, go to properties, and enable internet connection sharing.
    you may need to refresh the IP on your desktop, and then it should work fine.
     
  7. mpilchfamily

    mpilchfamily Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,559
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. selchas

    selchas Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vshah you are my hero

    Amazingly simple. Thank you . I wish I'd seen this two months ago before I spent £30 on TPlink powerline. Oh well I'm sure I'll find a use for it. Thank you again you have saved me much stress.



    P.S. Yes I know it's a very old thread :D
     
Loading...