Talk me out of a Sony NEX-5

lykaon78

Golden Member
Sep 5, 2001
I'm an amateur looking for slightly more than a traditional point and shoot but I'm intimidated buy the complexity and size of a SLR.

The NEX-5 is smaller than a SLR with great features that are appealing and a APS-C sensor similar to a SLR. What am I losing by selecting this camera?

dougp

Diamond Member
May 3, 2002
You're losing a view finder and a larger assortment of lenses. But you're getting a good camera and something that is much more portable than a SLR. My friend got one for Christmas, and I was tempted before I went with the A33.

There's a guy on HardForum that got one because he rides his motorcycle quite a bit: http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1544392

Cattykit

Nov 3, 2009
1. Crappy video mode if that matter to you.
2. Lack of lenses.
3. Available lenses being too big which lead to a balance problem.
4. Nikon is entering mirrorless market in April.

lykaon78

Golden Member
Sep 5, 2001
2. Lack of lenses.
4. Nikon is entering mirrorless market in April.

1. Good point but in comparison it can't be much worse than the Sony Digital Hi-8 camcorder I currently own.
2. I don't see going beyond 2-3 lenses. There are converters for about all the major lenses.
3. Good point.
4. This one interests me. Are their previews of their product line? I couldn't find any.

dougp

Diamond Member
May 3, 2002
4. This one interests me. Are their previews of their product line? I couldn't find any.

The only thing out there is a rumor of an announcement coming in April. So, you'd be looking at another 3 mo wait for the revealing of the line, and then probably August or September for an actual launch.

Just don't neglect other offerings from Olympus or Samsung - their camera's are nice.

PurdueRy

Lifer
Nov 12, 2004