Taking pictures with auto-timer

Discussion in 'Digital and Video Cameras' started by Syringer, Nov 9, 2012.

  1. Syringer

    Syringer Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    19,334
    Likes Received:
    1
    Going through the manual for my Lumix Gf3 it seems that when taking pictures with the auto-timer it focuses only when the button is halfway pushed down. However if I'm the only one jumping into the picture I won't be in focus when the button is pushed. So I want the camera to focus right before taking the picture but there doesn't seem to be an option for this--or is there one/alternative to this?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Taking pictures auto Forum Date
    Taking pictures of Lightning. Digital and Video Cameras Jun 28, 2016
    are polarizing filters a "must have" for taking beach pictures? Digital and Video Cameras Feb 26, 2016
    canon speedlite...impossible to take sunset picture Digital and Video Cameras May 12, 2015
    two of my CF cards are f'ed and I need to take the pictures off Digital and Video Cameras Mar 16, 2012
    While taking your pictures, don't forget about your family. Digital and Video Cameras Dec 4, 2011

  3. corkyg

    corkyg Elite Member<br>Super Moderator <br>Peripherals
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2000
    Messages:
    26,283
    Likes Received:
    45
    The auto timer should autofocus as well. My Canons do.
     
  4. dougp

    dougp Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,953
    Likes Received:
    1
    What AF mode are you using as well as the AF area? Make sure it's not in spot, and it's probably best to use continuous.
     
  5. Madwand1

    Madwand1 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could put something where you're going to be, manual focus on it, and then move it before the shot.
     
  6. kbp

    kbp Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the Gf3 have infrared for a remote? Thats what i use on my Nikons...