Swype getting worse?

Discussion in 'Mobile Devices & Gadgets' started by Deeko, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. Deeko

    Deeko Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Messages:
    30,207
    Likes Received:
    9
    Alright, maybe I'm crazy, but is Swype getting worse with each version?

    I've been using Swype since its original beta on the Droid in 2009, it was preinstalled on my HD2, and the best version I'd used came preinstalled on my Epic 4G was the best I'd used (although I utlimately returned the phone).

    So, I picked up a Vibrant in February...and was disappointed, whatever version was installed just didn't seem as accurate. Then I upgraded to Froyo, and it got even worse. It often doesn't even get close to what I'm trying to type, and it always wants to insert my contact names instead of real words (irritating when you've got your Facebook account linked with lots of names in it), and when I change it, it always has that pop up telling me the word I wanted was "hidden". Thanks, Swype, I know that, I don't need you to tell me every time (yes I have tips disabled).

    I've messed with the settings, but it doesn't seem to be getting better. Is anyone else seeing this, or is my phone just acting up for some reason?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Swype worse Forum Date
    S6 battery life gets worse with every update Mobile Devices & Gadgets Aug 25, 2015
    Swype makes 3750 location requests a day Mobile Devices & Gadgets May 4, 2014
    Swype has turned to massive crap Mobile Devices & Gadgets Dec 3, 2013
    Buy Swype Mobile Devices & Gadgets Apr 24, 2013
    is there a way to get the number pad back on the swype keyboard Mobile Devices & Gadgets Mar 17, 2013

  3. TheInternet1980

    TheInternet1980 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,652
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried swype for 5 minutes. (Build included with a stock G2) I hated each and every one of those minutes. I'm more accurate with the stock keyboard/auto-correct than anything else, including swype/swiftkey
     
  4. rudeguy

    rudeguy Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    47,385
    Likes Received:
    8
    I tried it a ton of times and never quite got used to it. Its a great idea that fails by just enough to make it unusable.

    I've been using SwiftKey for a while and like it enough to deal with it.
     
  5. Deeko

    Deeko Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Messages:
    30,207
    Likes Received:
    9
    Well that's the thing..Swype isn't for everyone, but I'm in the camp that's always been able to use it pretty well. Its just the latest versions on the Vibrant seem...off.
     
  6. YoungGun21

    YoungGun21 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547
    Likes Received:
    0
    I completely agree. Especially with the bolded. I've just gone back to the standard android keyboard on my Fascinate, but I'm looking for something else.
     
  7. QueBert

    QueBert Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    21,348
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have a Swipe beta that no longer works, but I cannot uninstall it to install the latest beta. I searched my phone with Astro for anything with swype in the name, and nothing comes up. It won't let me installing the latest version without removing the old one 1st.

    I'm wondering how this program has been in beta for what seems like 2 straight years and it's still buggy. I'm using Swiftkey now.
     
  8. Fingolfin269

    Fingolfin269 Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    17,928
    Likes Received:
    24
    I went from SwiftKey to Swype and haven't had any problems. Loved Swiftkey unless I tried to type a response to the forums. For some reason the damn thing lagged out like crazy on my EVO. Sometimes like 2 second delays between key presses.
     
  9. kaerflog

    kaerflog Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    4
    My problem with swype is that sometimes the finger tend to block the next letter you are trying to go to.
     
  10. vshah

    vshah Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    18,981
    Likes Received:
    16
    its still the fastest keyboard for me on my nexus one. i have the sliders for the popup frequency set to absolute mininum though.
     
  11. BigSmooth

    BigSmooth Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Messages:
    10,480
    Likes Received:
    0
    I started using the beta close to a year ago and I've also noticed a slight decrease in accuracy on my Gingerbread N1 over the last few versions. However, I do think part of that is me having gotten more comfortable with Swype - I think I try to type very fast with it these days, and that's what causes more "errors". If I slow down a bit it seems nearly as accurate as it used to.
    It seems like you are having more problems than that, though - mine is always "close" but it sometimes gives me an obscure word (or contact name) instead of the obvious, common choice.

    I still like Swype a lot. I can't really use traditional keyboards very well any more.
     
  12. simonizor

    simonizor Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's an ok idea, but I hate it. I always miss the letter that I want when I'm dragging my finger. I'd rather just use both my thumbs.
     
  13. AFurryReptile

    AFurryReptile Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,998
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in the same boat. SwiftKey is decent, but it has some annoying quirks that have me looking.

    I'm hoping the Gingerbread keyboard is good. I won't bother to update to CM7 until it's in release status.
     
  14. iahk

    iahk Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2002
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm 100% fine with swype. they just need to let you delete some of the words that come in the dictionary though. wtf is an utas?!?!?!
     
  15. sjwaste

    sjwaste Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2000
    Messages:
    8,769
    Likes Received:
    1
    Swype is in two locations (at least on the Evo, YMMV):

    /system/app/Swype.apk
    /system/lib/libSwype.so

    You have one of those lingering. Delete them. Do you have a rooted phone and do you know how to use adb?
     
  16. JS80

    JS80 Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    26,291
    Likes Received:
    1
    When the swype beta first came out I installed it and loved it. After it expired, I went back to the regular keyboard until I figured out how to install the new one. Then I hated it. It wouldn't do anything right.

    Now I use a paid version of Swiftkey and LOVE it.
     
  17. s44

    s44 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    9,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    I don't know if it's compatible with your Vibrant, but the version on the Fascinate Froyo leak (EB01) is by far the best version I've tried. Much better than the current beta -- the thing even has a nice selection cursor!

    edit -- have you tried tweaking the ask/don't ask and speed/accuracy sliders?
     
    #16 s44, Mar 30, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2011
  18. Anneka

    Anneka Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 1st used skype a long time ago (in 2009 if i remember well) and after that made a break from it until now (a few weeks ago) . Don't know why are u suggesting things are on a down slop.
    My 1st reaction was wooow. Is this that old speak program!
     
  19. DisgruntledVirus

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    11,790
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm a fan of Swype, but there are minor annoyances that have cropped up since I first started using it. It could be partially because I'm getting used to it or something, but my perception is that it's added features I've wanted but at the cost of losing the original enjoyability of the app.
     
  20. jonks

    jonks Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    13,925
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ah, you had the same problem I did but I figured it out. Don't look for the letter, just 'use the force' like when you type on a full keyboard. You don't look for the letter then, right? Just drag your finger around the keyboard to where you approximate the letter is.

    When I started I kept trying to peak around my finger to see where I was going. Don't.

    I hated Swype when I tried it and now kinda love it.
     
  21. Anneka

    Anneka Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh come one people-correct me when I'm tired and read only half of the words....
    Didn't anybody noticed that i read Skype instead of Swype.......
    Srry for that off topic post.
     
  22. hanoverphist

    hanoverphist Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    9,916
    Likes Received:
    22
    i had the same problem when i started using it. unfortunately, i have a lot of brain farts and forget what im typing. so i still found myself looking at the letters. i tried it for a week and a day before switching back. it frustrated me more than it should, and im sure it was all operator errors.
     
  23. Nvidiaguy07

    Nvidiaguy07 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    ARGHHHH!!! this is the worst.

    Although with the latest version of serendipity on my captivate I havent really noticed it.

    I still will always love swype, i honestly cant use anything else.
     
  24. vshah

    vshah Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    18,981
    Likes Received:
    16
    they've reduced the hidden word dialog a lot with the latest betas
     
  25. Anneka

    Anneka Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didn't even seen that!
     
  26. KevinH

    KevinH Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2000
    Messages:
    3,105
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't know if it was the phone or the version of Swype but I downloaded the latest version to install on my Hero and the stock one found on the Epic blew it away.