Question Surge Damage Over Networks

Aikouka

Lifer
Nov 27, 2001
We had some bad storms roll through the other day, and a lightning strike close to my house caused some damage to my electronics. From what I can tell, the surge entered in through the coaxial line, went through my modem, and hit my Ethernet network. This leads me to a few different questions/thoughts...

Coaxial Grounding
At the coax's entry point to the house, there is a grounding wire that is attached to the coax run. I checked the continuity between the two, and it definitely is active. However, as we know, this ground run did not stop the surge at all. The ground run goes from the communications box about 8-10 feet to my electric meter where it is simply clamped to the box itself.

So, I guess I'm wondering... is this a good grounding method? I'm not an expert on this, but during my reading, one thing that was noted was that just because something is grounded doesn't mean a surge will take that path. This made me wonder if my ground connection would have been better if it was hooked to a nearby grounding stake rather than the electric meter.

Coaxial Surge Protection
One thing that I didn't do was protect my network lines beyond the original coax grounding line. I had always heard negative things about the coax protection in power strips, but I knew my APC UPS had the same functionality on it. I did a little reading on it, and APC states that it only degrades the signal by about 2dB. I did reroute my coax to run through the UPS before it goes to the modem; however, I was wondering how useful this would be in the end.

Ethernet Surge Protection
I also heard about Ethernet surge protection that is supposed to have minimal impact on performance. I picked up one of these to try out, and I figured I could attach it to my UPS's grounding screw. Although, I guess I'm not sure about the worth of these devices. So, I'm curious if anyone has had some experience with them.

Accepting Wireless