Surface Pro: Wacom-like stylus/abilities for Photoshop?

Discussion in 'Mobile Devices & Gadgets' started by nibunnoichi, Nov 5, 2012.

1. nibunnoichi

nibunnoichi Member

This video shows that writing is possible on the Surface Pro:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vH304FfsGA4

But does anyone know if the Surface Pro will have pressure-sensitive stylus support, so that it can effectively eliminate the need for a Wacom tablet for doing advanced Photoshop work?

This would be a huge thing for me (and other digital artists I would imagine).

2. dagamer34

dagamer34 Platinum Member

Does any stylus digitizer not have pressure support? It would be a pretty weird feature to leave out.

3. destrekor

destrekor Lifer

Especially for advanced graphics work, it will need more than just generic pressure-sensitivity; how about 512 levels of pressure?

I think I'd definitely buy one - I got a Wacom tablet to mess around with (I'm not a graphics professional by any means, not even much of an artist), but I find it worthless as I can't effectively adapt to "draw on tablet, look at screen", and the Wacom Cintiq approach (draw on large screen) is just too damn pricey.

Top of the line Wacom products offer 2048 levels with 50 or 60º tilt sensitivity. Give us a 512 or 1024 level (with some tilt sensitivity) digitizer+pen combo on a full-fledged Windows 8 (x86) tablet/notebook hybrid... I'd be sold. I want the latter half of all that anyhow, throw a terrific digitizer into the package, I might even stand in a line for it.

4. RobDickinson

RobDickinson Senior member

Samsungs s-pen (aka on the win8 ativ pc pro) can do 1024 pressure levels, assuming the surface pro is similar.

5. luv2liv

luv2liv Platinum Member

6. podspi

podspi Golden Member