Suggestion for a quiet gaming keyboard.

drthrd

May 4, 2010
The only 2 I have fount so far is Logitech G710 Plus Brown and Corsair Cherry MX Silent. Is there more than just these two? The Logitech G710 Plus Brown is older but still has software support. I have a G502 mouse so already have their software installed. Corsair Cherry MX Silent is newer but is it better?

I am new to gaming keyboards how much of a difference is there between Cherry MX Silent Red and Cherry MX Brown switches? One with a wrist rest would be nice but not a biggy. I do not care about lighting or any of that. I just want a good one that would last awhile and perform well. I was looking for something around $50 but I do not see that happening so far. Any suggestions? Thank you.

Last edited:

lehtv

Elite Member
Dec 8, 2010
I have a Logitech G610 with Cherry MX Reds. With rubber o-rings installed under each keycap, it's not loud at all since the o-rings dampen the impact between the keycap and the switch. It's still louder than a keyboard using membrane switches, of course, but not so loud as to be annoying in any way.

In any case, I recommend the MX Reds since they're linear, there is no tactile feedback on the actuation point so there's no clicking noise besides the noise made when you release a key and the spring in the switch pushes it back up. Keyboards using MX Reds also tend to be cheaper than those using MX Browns.

Rubber o-rings you can find on eBay. You probably have to buy a keycap remover tool separately (in order to install the o-rings), not all keyboards come supplied with one.

I am new to gaming keyboards how much of a difference is there between Cherry MX and Brown switches?

Cherry MX comes in many flavors and Brown is one of them. Here's a good intro to Cherry switches: http://www.keyboardco.com/blog/index.php/2012/12/an-introduction-to-cherry-mx-mechanical-switches/

Last edited:

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001