Stuck in dead-end job

polarmystery

Diamond Member
Aug 21, 2005
Hi,
I'll make this short the best that I can. I have a dead end job that I absolutely hate. What's worse, is that I have a degree in Electrical Engineering and my job involves me doing AutoCAD work designing switchboards and I absolutely hate doing it. When I graduated, Power electrical engineering was my least desired job profession that I wanted to get into but because time was running short on when I had to start repaying student loans, I opted to go into it because my dad works at the facility where I work. I have over $100k in student loan debt from my journey into college not exactly sure what I wanted to do and now that I have a degree in EE, I know that EE isn't what I want. I have been trying to go through a career change into IT because I actually enjoy IT a lot.

However, it has been damn near impossible getting another job/career change because I don't have the experience except for experience with a job that has nothing to do with IT at all. I was possibly considering joining one of the military forces as an officer and getting the gov't to repay a large chunk of my student loan debt but it almost feels like I'm giving up my freedom. I am pretty stuck on what to do and every day kills me by way of monotany. I am not at all patriotic either, hence some struggle with the decision. My dad was in the air force and I hated it when he was in it, but I don't have any ties except for my family. I am a little older (26), but I'm not married nor do I have children. What do you guys think? Please advise I'm getting desperate here.

allisolm

Elite Member
Administrator
Jan 2, 2001
I was possibly considering joining one of the military forces as an officer and getting the gov't to repay a large chunk of my student loan debt

Good luck getting that to happen.

Modeps

Lifer
Oct 24, 2000