Still trying decide between Intel SSD Cache vs boot SSD / HD combo

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by unseengundam101, Mar 2, 2012.

  1. unseengundam101

    unseengundam101 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have been reading up on Intel's Smart Response Technology and SSD caching. Like one from anandtech: http://www.anandtech.com/show/4329/intel-z68-chipset-smart-response-technology-ssd-caching-review/1

    I have bought these 2 drives I plan on using:
    1x OCZ Agility 3 - 60GB
    1x Seagate Green 1.5TB 5,900RPM

    From info I have found on Intel's SSD Cache here what I see as the summary.
    Pros
    -Have more storage space for applications and other stuff
    -Can be almost as fast a real SSD if it is in the Cache

    Cons
    -You could lose day if you use "Maximize" mode
    -Inconsistency in speed (you need get things into cache and things may get kicked out)

    I was thinking using the SSD cache would make the system easier to use for my dad. He wouldn't have to worry about putting huge applications/data on normal HD vs SDD. However, I am still worried about speed (inconsistency) and possible data loss if using Maximize mode. Any ideas or suggestions?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - decide Intel Cache Forum Date
    Help me decide on Hard Drives and advise me on Hot Swap. Memory and Storage Jan 27, 2017
    Deciding which Crucial SSD to get Memory and Storage Jun 12, 2015
    Need help to decide: Intel 530 240GB vs Corsair LX 256GB ? Memory and Storage Sep 12, 2014
    Bought an Intel 510 and C300, have a Marvell 6gb port.. help decide.. Memory and Storage Apr 24, 2011
    Help me decide. Intel X-25 G2 160gb vs OCZ Vertex Turbo 120gb Memory and Storage Feb 11, 2010

  3. Tsavo

    Tsavo Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,622
    Likes Received:
    1
    Use SSD as OS device, HDD as storage.

    Use symlinks to cloak the fact that data are on another drive.
     
  4. bryanW1995

    bryanW1995 Lifer

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    11,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    60gb is pretty small, I'd use that as an ssd cache drive. BTW, I just use mine in enhanced mode since "maximize" tends to cause problems for me every now and then.
     
  5. kmmatney

    kmmatney Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is a case where something like the Seagate Momentus XT (500 GB now back down to $100) is useful - a single drive with built-in SSD cache. For me personally, I would install the OS on the SSD and use the 1.5TB drive for storage. However in this case it is probably easier to just use the drive as a cache, and not have to worry about space, although 60GB it a pretty huge cache. I guess it depends on how many programs would be installed on the OS drive. I have a 60GB SSD installed as the only drive in my wife's computer, and its not even half full yet.
     
  6. Wide Vector

    Wide Vector Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I currently have a 128 GB Samsung 830 for my OS and applications and I actually symlinked the entire Users directory to an older 640 GB WD drive I had and that seems to work great, I don't have any actual numbers but I don't notice any slowdown.

    I also just ordered the 750 GB Momentus XT to replace the 640 GB drive, I'm hoping the 8 GB nand cache on it will improve performance even further.

    I will then use the 640 GB WD and raid 0 it with another one I have for all my games.
     
  7. beginner99

    beginner99 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,443
    Likes Received:
    207
    OS + Storage. 60 Gb is plenty for OS + main programs like browser, email, office. Games belong on HDD.

    If you have a lot of RAM, decrease pagefile size on the ssd as per default it is the same size as the amount of RAM u have.
     
  8. MrX8503

    MrX8503 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,531
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can do what I'm doing.

    64GB Boot + 1TB Storage + 64GB Intel SRT.

    You get everything without any real sacrifice.
     
  9. kmmatney

    kmmatney Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,360
    Likes Received:
    1
    The good thing about using the SSD as a cache is that if it craps out, then you are not screwed. That's something to worry about with an OCZ drive.
     
  10. LokutusofBorg

    LokutusofBorg Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2001
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    If all you can afford is a ~60GB SSD then SRT is a good choice. If you can afford a ~120GB SSD then SRT should be off the table unless the user is not capable of managing two drives (e.g. my mom). But then you should back down to a ~60GB SSD and do SRT because you can't use anything larger anyway.

    That applies to desktops. For laptops you can't easily do SRT, so the Momentus XT is IMO better than a 60GB SSD. (I would never use the Momentus XT in a desktop.) But again, ~120GB SSD (or larger) is better/ideal.

    There *are* some use cases when a ~60GB drive is big enough. If you think you truly can get by with only that much space on your C: drive then go for it. At most you risk a reinstall to go in another direction if it doesn't work out.
     
  11. icanhascpu2

    icanhascpu2 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    60 is only small when you dont have a data drive. Then its plenty big. The OS only takes up 10GB~ when you configure it properly for SSD.


    One of the huge points of getting an SSD for many people is having the games you use most on it. Games you dont play belong on a HDD. If you put (relevant) games you play on the slower drive, you're a silly person.
     
    #10 icanhascpu2, Apr 18, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2012
  12. taltamir

    taltamir Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    13,578
    Likes Received:
    0
    buy a 120GB SSD, assign 20GB To cache your HDD and partition the rest as a singular OS drive. (Intel allows matrix RAID to be mixed with caching)
    Enjoy not having to choose

    If you are dead set on using that specific drive / if you have concerns about your dad handling 2 partitions.
    Then just use maximized with a UPS.

    Also from what I read a powerloss just means the cache rebuilds (takes under 1 min) and no data is lost.
    To lose data you need the SSD to actually fail... and if your drive fails you lose data regardless (unless backed up)

    Also you will never lose an entire day of data on a home user's write scenarios. You simply do not write enough to fill up the entire write cache.
     
    #11 taltamir, Apr 18, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2012