Steam: The save file on your local PC differs from the one on the Steam Cloud...

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by SunnyD, Nov 4, 2012.

  1. SunnyD

    SunnyD Belgian Waffler

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,541
    Likes Received:
    3
    I wrote this post intentionally like this. I was playing Borderlands 2 the other day, and for whatever reason at some point yesterday, the last session I had didn't sync. What you see above is pretty much verbatim what the Steam dialog box said.

    Better yet, it also tells you if you sync one way or other, you may lose progress in the game, but nowhere does it tell you WHICH SAVE FILE IS NEWER so you can at least try to make an informed decision on which one to overwrite!!! Because that would absolutely and totally NOT be useful at all to determine which option to chose, would it?

    Also, it doesn't tell you at all that choosing "Do Nothing" means you don't get to play at all and it aborts launching the game completely.

    I don't think they thought this one through very well.
     
  2. WiseUp216

    WiseUp216 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    4
    I always choose the version that is on my PC.

    How could a cloud version be more current than your local version?
     
  3. postmortemIA

    postmortemIA Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,510
    Likes Received:
    2
    simply, hackers got your steam id & pwd and are enjoying your games :D
     
  4. pontifex

    pontifex Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2000
    Messages:
    43,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    this happened to me once, i picked the local option since i assumed like you did that the local copy would have to be newer. turns out I was wrong and lost a bunch of progress.
     
  5. netarangi

    netarangi Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got the latest beta? I'm sure it says the date on my ones..
     
  6. AlexAL

    AlexAL Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    0
    ditto. I picked the local version also once, and it was older.
     
  7. WiseUp216

    WiseUp216 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    4
    Strange. I get this message around 1/10 times that I load up Borderlands 2. I've never lost any progress.

    I've always assumed that anytime a save was uploaded to the cloud that it was also saved locally. Then, if you exited the game and saved locally during an interrupted connection (happens a lot with BL2), the prompt would show up the next time you played.

    Another instance of why I dislike all of this 'cloud' nonsense. :thumbsdown:
     
  8. darkewaffle

    darkewaffle Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Messages:
    8,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    It would be for anyone who plays on more than one PC at least.

    And yea, I ran into the same problem with BL2 a few weeks ago. I got disconnected from Steam for like 30 seconds and chose "cloud" since I had just reconnected for the rest of the session but lost a few hours of play anyway. Annoying when something as simple as a time stamp in the dialogue or an automated backup of your local save before it gets overwritten would seem like a simple fix that goes a long way.
     
  9. NoCreativity

    NoCreativity Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,570
    Likes Received:
    1
    I took a shot in the dark and got lucky, think I chose local.

    It did tell me that if I chose "Do Nothing" it would abort the game.