Static and Dynamic ratio help.

HiTechNoob

Feb 19, 2008
I need a bit of help with picking a monitor and understanding the (Dynamic) tag on some screens.

I was considering buying the flatscreen below. (Buying at Best Buy because of convenience)

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/ol...oduct&id=1183160137115

When I was talking to the "salesman" he told me it was 3000:1 When it is actually 1000:1 and (3000:1 Dynamic). When I pointed that out and asked what it meant he said oh ya, "he thinks" it's better than a static 3000:1 because it only pulls the colors and detail when needed. I'm new to any in depth knowledge of PCs/Accs and components, i'm learning but don't know a whole lot yet. Besides saying that he couldnt explain why it was better then the other screens or why it's good to have.

Now I am not by any means a hardcore gamer and I don't use animation software or anything so this flatscreen is going to be for everyday use (i.e. surfing, forums, mini games) And for playing a few of the bigger games like WoW, CS, TF2, etc... I wanted to know if the one above is good enough (like he says) for what I need it for. Or if I should look for a better one. (If you guys see any others in the BB catalog that you think is way better, please feel free to recommend it)

I also wondered if you could explain a bit what the Dynamic ratio means and if it is better to have that on a screen along with a high static or if it is just as good on a low static one as well. (using the terms that salesman used hoping he knew what he was talking about)

It's hard to make a choice when none of the "PC Experts" could explain what (3000:1 Dynamic) means and if it is better to have a 5000:1 compared to a 1000:1.

This is the one I was considering if the one above is crap.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/ol...oduct&id=1179877503230