Starcraft says I need to install IPX protocol

Discussion in 'Software for Windows' started by Barfo, Nov 9, 2006.

  1. Barfo

    Barfo Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    27,207
    Likes Received:
    160
    ...to play in a LAN, where can I get this, is there something else I need to set up to play? :cookie:
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Starcraft install protocol Forum Date
    Installing Starcraft kills my PC / Running 3DMark06 kills my PC Software for Windows May 30, 2007
    Grab my Starcraft CD key from the installation Software for Windows Jan 2, 2007
    STARCRAFT: Installing for LAN party. Software for Windows Aug 19, 2006
    Installed Starcraft on an old laptop. Software for Windows Dec 25, 2005
    Need help installing Starcraft Software for Windows Apr 8, 2003

  3. So

    So Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    25,915
    Likes Received:
    1
    Rt. Click on Network Places | Properties
    Rt. Click on Local Area Connectio | Properties | Install | Protocol | The only one that mentions IPX
     
  4. ryan256

    ryan256 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Control Panel => network connections. Right click your connection & select properties. Click install, protocol, add, NWLink IPX/SPX NetBIOS compatible transport, OK, close.
    Thats how.

    ^ damn... faster typist :p
     
  5. Aikouka

    Aikouka Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    27,648
    Likes Received:
    77
    I thought a relatively old StarCraft patch added TCP/IP compatability for networking?
     
  6. JustAnAverageGuy

    JustAnAverageGuy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    9,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    It does.

    Update to the latest patch and select the Local Area Network (UDP)
     
  7. Barfo

    Barfo Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    27,207
    Likes Received:
    160
    It was easier for me to install IPX and it worked, thanks :D