SSD on an older board with no AHCI?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by itakey, Nov 20, 2012.

  1. itakey

    itakey Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an older setup with the Abit IP35-E and would like to put an SSD drive into it. I just scored a Kingston Hyper S sh103s3 120GB for a great price and want to consider putting it into this machine.

    I see that this board has an ICH9 chipset which doesn't include RAID/AHCI.

    I read elsewhere that it should still work great and will be a big improvement over a mechanical drive, but won't be as fast as it could (Run about 1/2 speed).

    Will TRIM still work properly?

    I'm not well versed on SSD and the technology so all feedback is appreciated.
     
  2. Sheep221

    Sheep221 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    6
    I think everything should be fine, only the speed will be decreased
     
  3. itakey

    itakey Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Must I make any adjustments or settings so the drive can use the TRIM feature, or whatever that function is that manages and monitors the reads/writes? Sorry if my terminology is off.
     
  4. Sheep221

    Sheep221 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    6
    TRIM is reliant on OS I think, it works in Windows 7 and Windows server 2008 R2
     
  5. postmortemIA

    postmortemIA Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ich9r has ahci + raid, and ich9 should still have ahci. Ich7 is one that does not have either.
     
  6. KingerXI

    KingerXI Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Arcanedeath

    Arcanedeath Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2000
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    0
    the Abit Ip35-E (I had one with a Xeon 3060) did include the ICH9R and does support achi / raid with the correct bios it's a p35 chipset board that was the midrange board below the ip35-e pro. check your bios & make sure it's the latest one.
     
  8. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,691
    Likes Received:
    87
    Nope. IP35 (no "-E") had ICH9R. IP35-E only had ICH9, no "R". I don't think that the IP35-E had AHCI setting in the BIOS. It certainly didn't have RAID.

    Oh, and there was no "IP35-E Pro". Only an "IP35 Pro".

    Edit: OP, you'll be fine. As long as you use an OS with TRIM (Windows 7/8), then you should be fine. AHCI implies support for NCQ, which can improve SSD multi-threaded performance, but it's not a big deal. Even at QD=1, an SSD should be noticeably faster than a HDD.
     
    #8 VirtualLarry, Nov 25, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2012
  9. Arcanedeath

    Arcanedeath Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2000
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    0

    my apolgies got the E and non E confused but the E does have ICH 9 which does support ACHI
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813127031
     
  10. itakey

    itakey Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for confirming, I'm going to go ahead and give it a go and see how it does.
    In Windows 7 I take it there is a spot where I am able to enable TRIM, or is it automatic?
     
Loading...