SSD into Toshiba M400 tablet=problems

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by bbhaag, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. bbhaag

    bbhaag Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,748
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have been trying to install a Kingston SV200 128GB ssd into my M400. However, when I try to install win 7 from the disk or from the repair disk and system image it says no hard drive detected. The bios shows the disc . Any ideas what to do?
     
  2. bbhaag

    bbhaag Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,748
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone have any ideas? I'm at a loss here. I popped the drive into my desktop and it wouldn't recognize it either. I eventually had to use Gparted Live to allocate the drive and then I was able to format it to NTSF. It now shows up when I have it connected to my desktop but still a no go when I try it in the laptop.

    Here's a link to the specs of the laptop. You might have to click on the Detailed Specs tab to the right.
    Toshiba M400 I'm trying to install Win7 Ultimate 32-bit onto the ssd. The machine already has Win7 Ultimate 32-bit running fine on the factory hdd.
     
  3. bbhaag

    bbhaag Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,748
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well I think I might have figured it out. I guess older Toshiba laptops need the sata driver loaded before the Windows install takes place. The question is how does one do that? USB and cd-rom isn't supported by the BIOS so you need to use a different method. So how do you pre-load drivers before a Windows install on a MB that won't recognize usb or cd-roms? I'll tell you how, you need one of these antiquated pieces of shit.
    [​IMG]

    I know what you're thinking. Hey that's a usb supported device why cant you just plug in a usb stick and load the sata driver before the Windows install? Honestly I have no answer to that question and neither does the net. The only answer I have found is "* Toshiba and their bullshit excuses for piss poor support".
    If this works or if it doesn't I will keep updating this thread because information about this is very hard to come by.
     
  4. AnitaPeterson

    AnitaPeterson Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    5,510
    Likes Received:
    1
    Fascinating. Please do keep us posted.
     
  5. eub66

    eub66 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you solved the M400+SSD V200 issue?!
    I'm also looking to intall an SSD into my M400 and I've seen Kingston V200 at a good price; but I think this config is a no go. Because, from what I read, M400 has the first SATA interface (SATA I - 1.5G) and Kingston V200 is SATA3, backward compatible with SATA2; but would not work in SATA1.
    Finally I decided to buy a SATA2 SSD (OCZ Octane) because SATA2 is backward compatible to SATA1 (I did not install Win7 on the SSD, yet).
    I did install Win7 from scratch/boot (not upgrade) on an empty HD but it required the RAID drivers from Toshiba. I put them on an USB that was recognized by Win7 while installing.
     
  6. bbhaag

    bbhaag Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,748
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes I got the Kingston to work on the m400. Once I loaded the raid driver Windows recognized the drive and installed just fine.
     
  7. eub66

    eub66 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the TRIM works? Cause I read somewhere that doesn't work with RAID; and if the SSD doesn't not have its own (proper) Garbage Collector to empty the SSD cells in advance, the "write" will be slowed down.
    What performance did you got with the V200?
     
  8. kbp

    kbp Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trim will work untill you create a RAID array.
     
  9. bbhaag

    bbhaag Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,748
    Likes Received:
    1
    I used AS SSD to bench the old hdd and then swaped in the new Kingston ssd with a fresh install of Win7 and ran AS SSD on it.
    I just tested the SEQ because I was in a hurry that day. The OEM hdd maxed at 24-27 MB/s on both read and right. The Kingston was closer 95-99 MB/s on read and write. These are just approximate numbers. I don't remember the exact scores. It was a pretty noticable difference though.