SSD AHCI quick question

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by quantumrider, Feb 12, 2013.

  1. quantumrider

    quantumrider Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I'm on Optiplex 755 with latest bios 22, have the Samsung 840 pro setup and working sweet, however in bios I'm in ATA

    is there a risk of losing the system if I switch it in bios to ahci?

    if things go bad will I be able to just revert?

    are benefits of AHCI worth the risk?

    thank you for the information in advance!
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - AHCI quick question Forum Date
    AHCI question Memory and Storage Mar 14, 2018
    4 TB Toshiba is now showing no Partitions. Any Quick Options? Memory and Storage Dec 25, 2017
    NVMe drive booting in AHCI mode? (Solved) Memory and Storage Mar 5, 2017
    M.2 PCI-E AHCI or NVMe? CSM or UEFI boot? Win7 or Win10? Memory and Storage Feb 4, 2017
    What are bandwidth and throughput limitations, if any, on PCIE x4 1-NVMe/2-AHCI M.2 expansion card? Memory and Storage Jan 19, 2017

  3. dave_the_nerd

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15,394
    Likes Received:
    1,038
    You have to mess with registry stuff and reload some drivers. It's not impossible. Never worked right when I tried it.

    Just a minor performance boost.

    But not all C2D systems even support AHCI, so...
     
  4. quantumrider

    quantumrider Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    so not worth the effort?

    is there a risk the files might get trashed and have to do install again?
     
  5. dave_the_nerd

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    15,394
    Likes Received:
    1,038
    Your data will live, but you might have to reinstall Windows. (Worst case.)

    I tend to have shit luck, though - if you find good directions and follow them, it should work fine.
     
  6. NP Complete

    NP Complete Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    IIRC, you should be able to switch on Win 7 and newer versions. XP (and possible Vista) did not ship with AHCI drivers, which would result in an unbootable OS if you switched the controller to AHCI without first installing the ACHI drivers.

    Win 7/8 *should* automatically detect the new controller and boot using the AHCI drivers it ships with.

    Worst case, you can try the switch in BIOS, and if you can't boot, switch it back.
     
  7. quantumrider

    quantumrider Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks guys for the info!