Soyo 24" Topaz monitor owners - I need some help

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Doomguy, May 17, 2010.

  1. Doomguy

    Doomguy Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2000
    Messages:
    2,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just replaced the power supply in my Soyo Topaz 24" monitor. It powers up and works now, except for the fact that the EDID information is GONE. The monitor will only function at up to 1600x1200, and only in VGA.

    I need an owner of this monitor to dump the DVI and VGA EDID information with this http://www.tucows.com/download.html?software_id=329441&t=2 tool. After I have the dumps, I can possibly reflash the EDID information, or incorporate it into an INF to have windows override the non-existant/corrupt EDID.

    Here's a link with more info on missing/corrupt EDIDs http://blog.komeil.com/2008/06/fixing-edid-dvi-monitors-no-signal.html

    Thanks!
     
  2. HumblePie

    HumblePie Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    12,881
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have a dead Soyo 24" now. Where did you get a power supply fix?
     
  3. Doomguy

    Doomguy Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2000
    Messages:
    2,336
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. pm

    pm Elite Member <br> Super Moderator<br>Mobile Device
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2000
    Messages:
    7,403
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have a working 24" Soyo Topaz. I can do this when I get home tonight. IM me if I forget.
     
  5. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nice one mod,

    That should fix him up. But what up with the mods 24 Soyo , it broke and same will happen to the guy who fixed this.

    Get a good brand, pay 50 bucks more you wont regret it and the life span would be even 10 years.... more then those old 1988 TV's .. thx gl
     
  6. Doomguy

    Doomguy Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2000
    Messages:
    2,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! I really appreciate it!

    I actually bought this monitor as broken, knowing that the power supply needed to be replaced. Unfortunately, it appears that the EDID information was also zapped.
     
  7. WT

    WT Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2000
    Messages:
    4,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll be the backup in case you need this. Mines running great. M-PVA panel for $270 with a build date of 11/07.

    I was even thinking of buying a second one for the workbench rig.
     
  8. HumblePie

    HumblePie Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    12,881
    Likes Received:
    11
    Besides the lack of HDCP, and a crappy power supply, this is seriously the best gaming pc LCD ever made in my opinion. I have one working and one dead. Need to fix the one though and might by a spare power supply incase the other one dies.
     
  9. shangshang

    shangshang Senior member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh good ole Soyo. Nice M-PVA panel on paper, but crappy electronics. At one point, Soyo even tried to slip in TN panels for this model. Good ole Soyo.
     
  10. Doomguy

    Doomguy Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2000
    Messages:
    2,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to PM, everything is working as it should now. The card previously would not display anything when connected with a DVI cable to my ATI 4890; not even in the BIOS was there a display. It appears as if some video cards will not interface with a monitor if it does not a receive any EDID information.

    $60 shipped for the monitor, $30 for the power supply, looks like I did okay! A fully-functional Soyo M-PVA monitor.
     
  11. EarthwormJim

    EarthwormJim Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm maybe that's what happened to my Soyo. It refuses to display an image being driven by an Ati video card (tested with AIW 9600, 1800XT, 4850). No problem with Nvidia cards though
     
  12. Doomguy

    Doomguy Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2000
    Messages:
    2,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Run Moninfo http://www.entechtaiwan.com/util/moninfo.shtm with your Soyo attached to your DVI port, even if it's not displaying. Cut and paste the information it dumps from the EDID, and I can probably tell you if it's an EDID issue.
     
  13. flx89

    flx89 Banned

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i was thinking in buying this kind of monitor . is it any good? anything else better?
     
  14. KIAman

    KIAman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2001
    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Back 3 years ago when I got this for $200 OTD, it was the best 24" LCD I could find (and afford). It still kickin on my desk.

    There are a lot of better 24" but the point is, to get anything non-TN panel, you will be spending 2-3x the money.
     
  15. konakona

    konakona Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    0
    OP, did you get your PSU from player2? I contacted him but somehow got left out from the order.. I guess the wait was worth it? :) I guess the only game in the town now is taobao, kinda sore about not being able to get the supposedly reworked and upgraded version.
     
  16. Doomguy

    Doomguy Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2000
    Messages:
    2,336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I got mine from player2. It was a very, very long wait. Hopefully an English source for the power supply comes up again.
     
  17. nataku00

    nataku00 Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Soyo Topaz was a really good deal ~2.5 yrs ago. Mine is still working fine on its original power supply but I was tempted to get a back up one when the thread on slickdeals was going.
     
  18. caddlad

    caddlad Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just ordered through Taobaodirect (same as Doomguys link above).

    I bought three M24E14's, two of which are working fine. The third, at home, blinks, and eventually goes black if you don't power off/on.

    I'll be glad when the new PSU arrives. This things about to send me into an epileptic fit.

     
  19. soccerballtux

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    12,560
    Likes Received:
    0
    try buying a different DVI cable. That fixed a lot of peoples' problems.
     
  20. kmmatney

    kmmatney Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine is still running great after 2.5 years of daily use as well. If it went on sale tomorrow, for the same price, it would still be the best gaming monitor you can buy. I also own an NEC e-IPS 23" LCD, but the Soyo is better. Good to hear that it can be fixed if the power supply goes bad.
     
  21. kmmatney

    kmmatney Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2000
    Messages:
    4,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    My Soyo does a blink off/on again (lasts about 1 second) about once per day. Its been doing that for about 6 months - no big deal so far, but I hope it doesn't mean a potential problem with the power supply. It has never done it in a game - only at the windows desktop, though.
     
  22. konakona

    konakona Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently ordered one (supposedly revised version) from taobaodirect. The total came out to be ~$35 now that they are no longer running the promotion for no minimum commission. Still quite cheap if I could revive the thing with that.
     
  23. sugarmyownchurro

    sugarmyownchurro Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Help! I'm in need of EDID info too. Can you PM me a copy of your dump or email me at the info I pm'ed you? I'm surprised between all the threads on this monitor that there is not a single EDID dat/inf available anywhere!
     
  24. konakona

    konakona Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got my PSU, installed it in my monitor and everything worked just fine :D:D:D

    ...or so I had wished going into it... when I plugged in the power and dvi cables, the blue LED came on. Windows detected the monitor and correctly identified it, but all I could see on the screen was some random vertical lines.

    Disassembled the whole thing and noted there wasn't any damage to the ribbon data cable to speak of, put everything back together and same thing happened again. Worse yet, now the windows doesn't even see it and the blue LED soon turns red.

    Not entirely sure on this, but I think the data board looks a bit dirty with the resin flux seemingly molten over certain places. Oh well.
     
  25. Emulex

    Emulex Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    9,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh my psu just died! replaced it with this LP3065 hp . loved that old monitor but there's some unicorn action going on with 2560x1600. what to do.

    how high voltage are lcd's? like a plasma/tv no way i'd mess with that
     
Loading...