Sony PS3 3D Display remote question

Discussion in 'Audio/Video & Home Theater' started by QueBert, Feb 21, 2013.

  1. QueBert

    QueBert Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    21,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Googling this it looks like Sony's PS3 Media remote works to turn this display on/off and control the volume. My neighbors son has the display but not the remote. I was going to set up and give them a Harmony 880 I have laying around. But I cannot figure out how to get it set up to control it. I don't have access to a PS3 remote to use the IR learning. And in the Harmony software there doesn't seem to be a profile for this.

    Outside of buying the PS3 remote and doing the IR thing is there any way I can get this working? Sony has basically zero info on what works remote wise with this display so I don't even know what else to try.
     
  2. fralexandr

    fralexandr Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you get the harmony adapter for PS3?
    http://www.logitech.com/en-us/product/5732?crid=1052

    directions to pair harmony remote to the adapter
    http://logitech-en-amr.custhelp.com...10/lt_product_id/5732/tabs/1,3,2,4,5/cl/us,en

    logitech uses IR, which the PS3 doesn't, thus the adapter is required to convert IR to bluetooth (The PS3 remote probably uses bluetooth?).

    I remember it being pretty simple to setup.

    I don't know if you want to spend ~$50 buying one for them though, considering a ps3 remote is usually $25?
    http://www.frys.com/product/5941424?source=googleps
     
    #2 fralexandr, Feb 22, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2013
  3. QueBert

    QueBert Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    21,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    No no, he doesn't have a PS3, I think they have an Xbox (original) hooked to it. The display should be IR. I could just buy the PS3 remote and use the Harmony learning, but I'd never touch the remote again so that's wasted money. I'm thinking there should be a way to do this, but I can't find any info on this display.
     
  4. fralexandr

    fralexandr Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,707
    Likes Received:
    0
    #4 fralexandr, Feb 23, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2013