Sony DB9930 Receiver Protect Mode

Joe Turner

Mar 25, 2013
My Sony DB930 goes into 'Protect Mode' when it is turned on. This still happens even after all speaker wires, etc are disconnected. When this initially happened a month or two ago, I reconnected all the speaker wires which temporarily resolved the problem--it worked fine. Now it has returned. Any idea of what I can try before I take it in to a service center? I have read something about checking multiple fuses(?), but given the fact that the problem stopped and re-started again, was unsure if a fuse still made sense or if it would likely be something else.

I am an electronics novice, so while I'm willing to try whatever to attempt a fix, I do not have a lot of electronic diagnostic equipment. Also while I think this is generally considered to be a very good receiver, I'm not sure how much money I should put into repairing it as it is nearly 13 years old. Any advice on any of this would be greatly appreciated!

master7045

Jul 15, 2005
I had a Yamaha receiver that would go into protect mode and it was either due to overheating (was in a small cabinet at the time) and was to the touch hot. The other time was when the exposed copper speaker wires (+ & -) would touch, which would cause it to shutdown. I'd take a close look at the speaker terminals on the backside of that receiver and make sure there aren't any loose strands of speaker wire that may be causing the short.

Joe Turner

Mar 25, 2013
I had a Yamaha receiver that would go into protect mode and it was either due to overheating (was in a small cabinet at the time) and was to the touch hot. The other time was when the exposed copper speaker wires (+ & -) would touch, which would cause it to shutdown. I'd take a close look at the speaker terminals on the backside of that receiver and make sure there aren't any loose strands of speaker wire that may be causing the short.

Appreciate the feedback, but I don't think those are the issue because: