Status
Not open for further replies.

nixium

Aug 25, 2008
So I was browsing Seeking Alpha and ran across these two articles -

End of Recession in 2009?

and

7 Signs of an Economic Bottom

I'm a financial Noob, and don't know enough to meaningfully criticize either of these articles.

Surely, my lightweight thread can't hope to compete against the likes of the several-hundred-pound doom-n-gloom threads that are raging P&N these days, but maybe reading these articles will give you a few seconds of optimism. Maybe.

Moonbeam

Elite Member
Nov 24, 1999
You put this up there with all the end of the world threads and you begin to suspect people are selling something.

nixium

Aug 25, 2008
Originally posted by: Moonbeam
You put this up there with all the end of the world threads and you begin to suspect people are selling something.

!?

Spare me, I'm new to P&N (cowers under desk)

No one has *any* opinion?

Even the end-of-the-worlders haven't posted dismissive, scornful comments that denigrate me and my antecedents.

Surely this thread isn't that pathetic that it's beneath notice!

StageLeft

No Lifer
Sep 29, 2000
I think the "end of the recession" in fact is very possible, but similar to the end of a fight because one person is unconscious. Things are still going down hill and that will continue. If the end is defined at which point the GDP stops contracting, that may happen, but I am still positive that it will be well past that before we get to where we were. Think of a gunfight that is over. You're not getting shot anymore but that bullet wound has to heal.

I'm thinking along the lines of point 5 of the second article. Obviously he's using hyperbole, but at some point things can't get that much worse and have nowhere to go but up, even if it's slow.

Moonbeam

Elite Member
Nov 24, 1999
People see what they believe, they don't, as they think, believe what is there to see.

Moonbeam

Elite Member
Nov 24, 1999