Software RAID 1 in Vista?

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by PokerGuy, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. PokerGuy

    PokerGuy Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,652
    Likes Received:
    197
    When you convert two drives to dynamic drives, does any flavor of Vista support software mirroring? I know you can set up striping and spanning pretty easy, but is mirroring not supported?

    I hate using the 'hardware' version of raid built into the mobo, because if something happens to the motherboard, I can't take those drives and just plop them into another machine. I'm basically stuck to that mobo. Using windows software raid, you can just move the drives to another machine and import them.....

    Am I missing something? How do people do mirroring?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Software RAID Vista Forum Date
    Win 7 - Slow Boot - Due to Software RAID Resynching? Operating Systems Jan 7, 2013
    Windows Server Software Raid Help Operating Systems Jul 2, 2012
    WHS - Software Raid 5 Operating Systems Dec 13, 2011
    WinXP SP3 Software RAID (Mirroring) question... Operating Systems Apr 25, 2011
    Does Vista support software raid? Operating Systems Feb 12, 2007

  3. Boobs McGee

    Boobs McGee Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    It looks like you are out of luck.

    Text

     
  4. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    MS has never supported any form of redundant software RAID on their non-Server OSes.
     
  5. yinan

    yinan Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    0
    By a controller card then, they are inexpensive for ones that can do RAID 1.
     
  6. PokerGuy

    PokerGuy Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,652
    Likes Received:
    197
    Hmmm, ok so software raid is out..... If you set up two drives as mirrors using hardware raid and the motherboard dies, can you take a single drive of the mirror and just mount it on another machine as a "broken" mirror to copy the data and recreate a mirror array, or are you basically out of luck?

    I mean, is there any purpose then to RAID 1 capability on the MB?
     
  7. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure, to save you from a drive failure not a motherboard failure.
     
  8. PokerGuy

    PokerGuy Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,652
    Likes Received:
    197
    Good point. The issue is that you can always replace a drive if it fails with another drive of larger (or same) size and be back up and running. If the controller (on the motherboard) fails, you are completely toast and lose everything unless you can find the exact same motherboard as a replacement.

    So, you create a RAID 1 array to protect yourself against drive failure, but in doing so you create a new danger that if something happens to the mobo you permanently lose everything, 'redundancy' or not.

    I thought there might be a way to take a single drive from a mirror set and put it on another regular sata or ide controller and get the data (something you obviously cannot do with a striped array). Is that not the case?

     
  9. Nothinman

    Nothinman Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    30,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't disagree with you, I hate those embedded fakeraid controllers but you can't blame them for MS not letting you use software RAID1. And the reality is that drives fail a lot more often than motherboards, in fact I don't think I've ever had a motherboard or drive controller fail on me. But if you're really that paranoid then buy your motherboards in two so that you're sure to have a replacement of the same model and revision handy.

    Not sure, maybe. I think most of those onboard fakeraid cards put their metadata at the end of the drive so it might work. Linux dmraid supports a lot of those fakeraid formats so I'd probably go that route when trying to recover data from one of those arrays.