Softbox with off-camera flash through umbrella

jtvang125

Diamond Member
Nov 10, 2004
What type of effect would be achieved with a setup of a constant lit softbox at 45 degrees to the subject and a off-camera flash through a white umbrella on the other side? Would it be essentially the same as just having a softbox on both sides or would the burst of flash create a different effect?

I'm interested in getting into flash and studio photography and thinking of getting one of those kits (backdrop, softboxes, and umbrellas) to play around with. I already have a speedlite and wireless trigger but plan to pick up another speedlite too.

tdawg

Platinum Member
May 18, 2001
I'm not an expert by any means...but if you have both 45 degree lights outputting the same amount of light, it should be similar to one head-on softbox on the face, though you will get light in further depth from the camera.

Now, if one side is outputting light at a lower intensity than the other, you will be able to get nice shadowing that may be more flattering.

Edit: Here, this video will do better showing lighting effects than I could describe. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qM7CcUrUD2g

Last edited:

Cerpin Taxt

Lifer
Feb 23, 2005
It sounds like you're just wondering what the difference is between a softbox and an umbrella, and also what the difference is between a steady light and a strobe. I'm not an expert, but I'm in a similar position to you insofar as I'm growing up my lighting rig and experimenting with off-camera flash with modifiers.

Softboxes seem to cast a more directional light to me, whereas an umbrella seems to have a little less directionality to it. A softbox is like standing beside an sunny window whereas an umbrella is more like standing next to some kind of large glowing sphere of light. In practice, the differences can be hard to see and mostly I just so excited by the creamy diffused light of either modifier that I dont really care too much about the differences.