So, you're a photographer?

Newfie

Jun 15, 2005
I thought it would be nice for people to introduce themselves as a photographer (both amateur and professional) by telling us what camera/lenses/other accessories you use, what you like taking pictures of, who you are as a photographer, etc. I will start by introducing myself. You can also post some of your favorite pictures you have taken if you like.

I am pretty new to photography but I have always shown an interest to it. I own a Canon Powershot S3 IS and it's a nice camera that goes beyond a simple point n' shoot but it is no SLR (for my needs and current knowledge of cameras, it's good enough). I like taking pictures of Wildlife and nature and I am just beginning to explore macro photography.

I might post some of my pictures later as it's too late to start digging through my collection.

Edit: I've uploaded a few of my pictures to an online album. I have only very recently tried to go beyond P&S so my pictures don't hold a candle to most of the others on this forum. I am hoping to get a DSLR in the future, but it won't be for a little while.

Gallery: http://picasaweb.google.com/Newfie41
Comments appreciated.

Oct 19, 2000
Definitely an amateur photographer here. My gear includes a Nikon D50 (THE best DSLR every made IMO ;)), 18-55 kit lens, 50mm f/1.8 (a.k.a. The Cheap Wonder), and a Sigma 105mm Macro. The 105 macro is easily my favorite of the bunch. Other accessories include an SB-600 Speedlight, and various other related photography equipment such as Whibal cards and software such as Nikon Capture NX, Photoshop CS3, and Lightroom.

Gallery can be viewed at http://joshpuckett.smugmug.com, although I don't have too much going on at the moment. I haven't taken any pictures in quite some time, and I'm hoping to get back into it. I've even considered setting up an amatuer studio at my home for portraits, although I'm sure to get in over my head. :)

Dec 10, 2005