Slot-1 vs. FC-PGA? FSB 133 vs 100MHz?

Feb 9, 2000
Hi, I'm a newbie to this. Is FC-PGA better than a slot-1? If so, is FC-PGA CPU with an adapter still better than a slot-1?
And P3 800MHz is available in both FSB133 and FSB100. Is 133 much better? I have PC100 RAM, can I use it with FSB133 CPU? And could you recommend a good site to find info on this? Thank you very much.

Zedfu

Sep 26, 2000
fcpga has an on-die cache, which the slot1 has on-board cache. on-die cache on fcpga will result in faster instruction transfer, i believe the newer p3 is built on .18 micron compared to slot, and it definitely runs cooler. the slot has problems with heat dissipation. although not by that much of a noticeable difference the adapter will possibly reduce performance a bit. i recommend a 800E processor (E stands for .18 micron manufacturing process) which is the 100Mhz version. this way, using an flexible motherboard, you can overclock it to 133 or approximate. some motherboards available allows you to set the ram clock totally independent than the core clock, therefore it's possible to use pc100ram with fsb133 cpu. well, i guess it all comes down to if you have the right components to start with. :)

spamboy

Banned
Aug 28, 2000
Actually, there are Slot 1 PIII's with the cache on die, as well. The IMPORTANT part is not whether or not it is FC-PGA or Slot 1, but whether it is the older Katmai core or the new Coppermine. The Coppermines have the fast on-die cache, the Katmais don't. Coppermines can overclock, Katmai's generally can't. Now then, Coppermines are availiable in both FC-PGA and Slot 1 forms, and the Katmai's are only Slot 1. How to know which is which? The Katmai's have 512KB of cache, the Coppermines have 256KB. You won't likely be able to run a 800/100 chip on a 133 side bus, it won't overclock that high. Better to get a 700/100 if you want to do that, they hit 933/133 fairly reliably. But if you're set on a 800, get the 800/133, it will be much faster than a 800/100.