Skyrim and AMD

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by Peppered, Dec 10, 2011.

  1. Peppered

    Peppered Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a XF 6950 2gb and seem to have skyrim crash a lot. I have the latest drivers and the game is up to date, or at least it seems so as far as steam shows.

    I did the fix on the audio set up that cause the game to crash so I am thinking that it is the AMD drivers.

    This is the only game I play at this time and if the card is the problem then I may just buy a 560TI.

    Can anyone confirm the issues with Skyrim and AMD?
     
  2. Grooveriding

    Grooveriding Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    7,737
    Likes Received:
    11
  3. MrK6

    MrK6 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    4,438
    Likes Received:
    0
    My first question is are you running any mods or a tweaked .ini? If so, you absolutely need to run the 4GB launch executable. If not, the usual stuff - are you overclocked (CPU or GPU)? Is it stable?

    I've put a lot of hours into Skyrim and haven't crashed once, but most of that was vanilla and when I started modding my .ini I also started running the 4GB launch.
     
  4. Peppered

    Peppered Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    no mods added, I started over a few times and some quest are broken that were there the first time.
    I did do a comand to get my weight limit up, I couldn't stand being over burden all the time. this was not a mod just a counsel comand.
    No overclocking on CPU or GPU. this is a new PC that I built and havn't had anyother issues
     
  5. Elfear

    Elfear VC&G Moderator
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    6,475
    Likes Received:
    4
    My money is on the regular executable. Try the 4GB .exe as others suggested. That fixed a lot of crashes for me.
     
  6. Leyawiin

    Leyawiin Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    8
    Another vote for Skyrim 4GB launcher. After the 1.2 patch my formerly great running game began experiencing crashes when I would fast travel. It would happen about four or five times a night. Since I've been using the 4GB launcher I've had exactly one fast-travel crash and its been about 40-50 hours now. From what I've read Bethesda is going to include LAA in an upcoming patch.
     
  7. Peppered

    Peppered Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks all I will have time next week to try it out, I finaly had 3 days off to try this and got frustrated with the crashes, look forward to trying it with 4gb launcher

    Bad thing is if this wont work with mods it kinda makes the point of playing on a PC overe a PS3 or a xbox lose the advantage.
     
  8. PuppettMaster001

    PuppettMaster001 Golden Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1

    The 4GB exe fixed the random CTDs for me too. Without the exe I was getting the worst timed CTDs ever (oops.... forgot to quick save). Haven't crashed once and have been using the 4GB exe for about 50 hours of gameplay.
     
  9. frozentundra123456

    frozentundra123456 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,085
    Likes Received:
    44
    I used the increased carry weight command also!! Got really tired of being overburndened, especially since the vendors have so little cash, and you have to run around to different venders to sell different things. I am up to nearly 100 hours on a low end system, and have had only 1 crash to desktop. The game does freeze occasionally, but if I wait long enough it becomes playable again.
     
  10. Arkaign

    Arkaign Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    19,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, I have 2500k@4.5 and XFX 69502GB, and zero crashes ever. I've used the regular steam patches that have come along. I have seen some random stuff in the game from time to time, I was a daedric guy at the bottom of a lake spazzing out, arrows stuck in the air at the top of a mountain, a dragon skeleton flying around, etc.
     
  11. Nintendesert

    Nintendesert Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,761
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have a 2500K at 4.2 and a 5870 and have not had any CTD issues with the game. It's very irregular and across all platforms that it's giving people problems. I don't run the fixed .exe and just stock from Steam while my brother with a very similar setup but with a 570SC experiences a lot of CTDs, the LAA patch fixed a lot for him though. Both systems running 16gigs of ram. He's not running the game from an SSD though while I am.
     
  12. Arkadrel

    Arkadrel Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a ph II@4ghz and a 5870, and its running like a charm for me.

    i doubt its a amd issue.
     
  13. SlowSpyder

    SlowSpyder Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    10,134
    Likes Received:
    4

    I've had one or two lockups, but since going to the latest drivers I haven't. I'll also try the 4GB mod also. I'm not sure if the drivers were coincidence or if it actually fixed anything. I'm using CF 5870's, though.
     
  14. Concillian

    Concillian Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    1
    FYI I've only had one crash on a 5770.

    Read any Skyrim centric forums and you'll see lots of people having CTD issues. There is no real common thread. You see it from Intel CPUs, AMD CPUs, nVidia cards, AMD cards, doesn't matter, the game has bugs. Even console players are having issues here and there.
     
  15. Mem

    Mem Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    21,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's the game,I've 560Ti and have had quite a few CTD,not so many since 1.3 patch(about 4 so far ) .

    Huge official thread on CTD at their forums here http://forums.bethsoft.com/index.php?/topic/1270631-crashes-during-gameplay/page__st__1120 over 55 pages long.
     
  16. brandonb

    brandonb Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,731
    Likes Received:
    1
    <--- see sig.

    Never any crashes, however, I'm only lvl 15 or so. I haven't put alot of hours into it, maybe 10, but no crashes in those 10 hours.
     
  17. volcane

    volcane Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've gotten more CTDs since I updated Skyrim to version 1.3. Much more than when I was in version 1.2.

    The game would consistently last about 10 minutes before it either freezes or crashes. Sometimes I get the "Display driver stopped responding" message, sometimes I don't.

    I'm running a X4 960t and 6870 1GB (both stock) with Catalyst 11.11.

    Just used the 4GB mod yesterday and while it still occasionally freezes, it has stopped crashing.
     
  18. 3DVagabond

    3DVagabond Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11,730
    Likes Received:
    2
    Have we satisfactorily established that it's not an AMD conflict? If so, maybe the title should be edited?
     
  19. RavenSEAL

    RavenSEAL Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,671
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lay off AMD, this is bethsoft's issue, not their.
     
  20. TakeNoPrisoners

    TakeNoPrisoners Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,597
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have a problem with crashing and I have a 5850.
     
  21. Skott

    Skott Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,731
    Likes Received:
    1
    The only AMD issues I have heard of is when using dual cards in CF. AMD said this would be addressed in a driver update. Not sure if that updated driver has been released yet or not. That's a CF set up however. Single AMD use is suppose to be fine. Given the reported bugs that are in Skyrim I too would be inclined to say it is more of a game issue/bug than a AMD one.
     
  22. 3DVagabond

    3DVagabond Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11,730
    Likes Received:
    2
    Seeing as the issues are happening randomly to both brands of cards... It could be caused by a lot of things. It could be an Arrow or *MPC (media player classic). Or some random app phoning home causing it for all we know.





    *I'm not saying it's either of these programs in particular. Just making an example. Before someone gives us a wall of text on why MPC could never cause this. ;)
     
  23. Avalon

    Avalon Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    7,384
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, I'm running an Intel Core2 E8400 on an Nvidia GTX 560 and get random CTD about every couple hours.

    My wife is running an Intel Core i5 750 w/ATI Radeon 4850 and gets the same thing.

    Definitely random. Going to try the 4B LAA launcher.
     
Loading...