Single payer in California: can doctors still charge more?

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Grooveriding

Diamond Member
Dec 25, 2008
I work in health care under a single payer system. You do not wait for care if you are presenting with an emergent case. I understand that is a common talking point used to scare monger about single payer and finding cases where there have been issues. I would simply point you to the studies done that show many nations with single payer care are delivering better care on a per capita basis while spending less money per person than the care provided in the US.

When you hear of one case here or there it's important to remember you are hearing about searched out instances of issues to push a narrative. No system is perfect. But looking at single cases is zooming in on one bad tree out of the entire forest. Zoom out to the forest at large and there are less bad trees in the single payer system than the for profit system. If you trust the data provided by the W.H.O. assessing health care systems around the world in 2000.

There are weaknesses, primarily in access to diagnostics, particularly MR, and less so CT. Still if a diagnostic is needed immediately, you'll get one. What you won't get is an MR done quickly on your forearm after possibly tearing a muscle playing tennis. Efficiency becomes more important and sensibly allocating diagnostic time. If you want a diagnostic rapidly for something that doesn't necessarily warrant it, you can pay out of pocket or with employer insurance at outpatient clinics.

boomerang

Lifer
Jun 19, 2000
The question posed by the OP resides in the 'cart before the horse' category. Legislators in CA know that tax revenue would have to be doubled to cover the cost of this program. They also know that it is going to be virtually impossible to juggle priorities around to make this happen.