Shut up or ship out? Advice needed.

Czesia

Nov 22, 2003
So here's the situation:

Parents are extremely restrictive and can't seem to accept that their daughter has grown up and has needs very different from their own. I'm their oldest (almost 21) and their youngest is 5 yrs old. They often make the mistake of treating their older children the same way as the youngest.

The problem is that I want to have my own life and to lead it the way that I want, but still maintain a close connection with my family. They make me feel guilty for things I do that they don't "condone". These are simple things, like wanting to stay overnight at a friend's house after a party, or wanting to go on co-ed camping trips. I'm good to my entire family and love them a lot, but I feel like I'm not living out a fulfilling life right now, and never really have is some respects. Also, our disagreements lead to awful arguments and make my parents and family very "disappointed" and upset with me.

I'm a student and really don't think I could afford to move out long term, but I also realize that once I make the move, I can't move back. Ever. My bf's family has offered to let me have their basement, but I already know my family would be very upset (maybe even disown me, but I'm not too sure) plus I don't want to be a burden on his their family.

So what should I do? Stay home, or ship out? Or is there some other way to keep everyone happy, including myself? :confused:

**Edit: title

StageLeft

No Lifer
Sep 29, 2000
What the HELL is wrong with me? Half way through the first sentence the first word that came to my head was "PICS".

In regards to moving out, how long until you're done school? If it's a year or two I'd just put up with it in the interest of family relations, then move out when you're ready and can afford it. If you move in with the BF your parents will lose sleep at night thinking of the things you're doing with him in his basement.

conjur

No Lifer
Jun 7, 2001