Should you back up games on steam?

Artista

Jan 7, 2011
I am still fairly new to steam (old school physical media gamer here) and was looking through the steam client options.

One option is to back up games (to restore if needed later)

Should I do this?

If so do I just back up games I have started to play or all the games in my steam folder?

Do I back them up to another hard drive other than the one they are on?

(I assume this is mainly just in case your folder gets corrupted? Perhaps though in case the hard drive they are stored on crashes?)

Thank you

Ferzerp

Diamond Member
Oct 12, 1999
The only reason to back them up is to save you the bandwidth/time of downloading them again if you lose your entire drive. Any corruption can just be scanned and repaired on a per-file level.

KaOTiK

Lifer
Feb 5, 2001
I don't bother, but I also don't have a bandwidth cap. I have too many games to making backing up practical when I can't even install more then a third of the games I own.

JimKiler

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 2002
I take it there is no known time limit to reinstall games. There will be one eventually, maybe after 10 or 15 years and the game has not support for modern operating systems.

JimKiler

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 2002
Steam gladly sells old games that won't work in win7/win8 so I don't see that happening.

But at some point the cost of keeping the games online is going to be outweighed by the cost of storage and then they will get rid of them, maybe it will be more like 20 or 30 years as steam gets more and more games.

AlexAL

Jan 23, 2008
But at some point the cost of keeping the games online is going to be outweighed by the cost of storage and then they will get rid of them, maybe it will be more like 20 or 30 years as steam gets more and more games.

In 2-3 years a 20Gb download will be nothing.

TheKub

Golden Member
Oct 2, 2001

?!?!? Becasue the cost of computing capacity gets more expensive as time goes on???