Should I move to Linux?

CrazyPaddy

Nov 5, 2002
I am a beginner so please keep your replies fairly basic.

If I change from Windows 98, what do I have to gain?
And what do I have to lose?

merlocka

Platinum Member
Nov 24, 1999
If I change from Windows 98, what do I have to gain?

In depth knowlege of how an operating system works.
A better understanding of networking.
A stable, secure desktop.

And what do I have to lose?

Hours and hours of time reading FAQ's an mini-how-to's.

Barnaby W. Füi

Elite Member
Aug 14, 2001
if you are really eager to learn, then you will gain huge amounts of useful knowledge/experience which can/will improve your erm..satisfaction (?) as far as computing goes. basically you learn alot and its fun.

if you arent eager to learn and just want your computer to work well without dealing with windows, get a mac.

Darien

Platinum Member
Feb 27, 2002
Originally posted by: BingBongWongFooey
if you are really eager to learn, then you will gain huge amounts of useful knowledge/experience which can/will improve your erm..satisfaction (?) as far as computing goes. basically you learn alot and its fun.

if you arent eager to learn and just want your computer to work well without dealing with windows, get a mac.

You can always install linux on a mac as well :D

Flatline

Golden Member
Jun 28, 2001
Personally, I recommend a dual-boot system (right now I'm running SuSE and Mandrake ;))

For a Win98 user, seriously, start off with a dual-boot so that you don't just jump in and get intimidated; you can maintain a comfort zone with Windows while learning with 'nix. Some distros (SuSE in particular) have tools built into the installer that will allow you to resize your Windows partition in order to make space for your Linux system.

Dual-boot and try to use your Linux system first for all of your normal computing needs; once you learn the landscape a bit, you might just decide to go ahead and kill your Windows partition :D

ETan

Golden Member