Should I get 2x GTX680 4GB, or 1 GTX680 and upgrade CPU?

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by ParseMeHard, Dec 9, 2012.

  1. ParseMeHard

    ParseMeHard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, current system:

    AMD FX-8150 @ 5Ghz
    16GB DDR3 1866 GSKILL Sniper
    3xGTX260
    AX1200i PSU
    H100i

    I had 2xGTX680's (the 2GB versions) and I returned them, planning on getting back 2xGTX680's in the 4GB version, but I know this CPU is holding me back...

    So I guess, my question is:

    Do I pickup the 2 GTX680's

    Or

    Pickup 1 GTX680 and a 3770k + Mobo

    They equal up the the same price.

    I do run Surround (3x 23.6" LCDs, 1920x1080)
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - GTX680 GTX680 upgrade Forum Date
    Installed new GTX680 and lost all analog sounds Video Cards and Graphics Sep 12, 2013
    Alt+Esc Review: HD6970 vs. GTX680/770 vs. HD7970GE vs. GTX780 Video Cards and Graphics Aug 20, 2013
    Deciding on upgrade from EVGA GTX460 GTX680 ATI 7970 or wait? Video Cards and Graphics Apr 18, 2012
    Worth upgrading from HD6870 CF, to GTX680? Video Cards and Graphics Apr 13, 2012
    Upgrade HD5970 to GTX680 or wait? Video Cards and Graphics Mar 23, 2012

  3. 3DVagabond

    3DVagabond Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11,822
    Likes Received:
    79
    Because of your resolution I'd go with the dual 680's. With your CPU @ 5.0 GHz I believe you'll still be GPU limited unless you opt for low IQ settings.
     
  4. ParseMeHard

    ParseMeHard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thing about that, is so far I have found, there are few games that really work with Surround. Crysis 2 and Borderlands 2 seem to work the best. I'm not sold on the whole Surround thing anyways. It's cool, but even brand new games such as Dishonored wont work with it.
     
  5. aaksheytalwar

    aaksheytalwar Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    You will be CPU limited with 680 sli. Get a 3770k or 3930k based on your budget.
     
  6. ParseMeHard

    ParseMeHard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the biggest difference between 2011 and 1155 with Ivy Bridge? Just memory limitations?
     
  7. Grooveriding

    Grooveriding Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    8,431
    Likes Received:
    512
    For surround the dual 680s with your current CPU will be much faster than a new CPU with a single 680. But, you seem to be having second thoughts on surround.

    You should decide on that first. If you're just going to end up going one 1080P monitor, a single 680 and the Intel CPU would be a better a choice. LGA2011 / 39XX CPU is only going to be better than an Ivy in a few games; Battlefield 3 multiplayer, possibly Crysis 3 going on the alpha CPU benchmarks. Other than those and a few other titles you wouldn't be able to tell the difference between the two apart from the price.
     
  8. moonbogg

    moonbogg Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9,068
    Likes Received:
    477
    Would it be possible to get two 670 4gb versions to save some money, sell your AMD and have enough to get a sandy/ivy?
     
  9. brandon888

    brandon888 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    +111111111111111

    great! save 200$ and get sandy or ivy :D
     
  10. 3DVagabond

    3DVagabond Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    11,822
    Likes Received:
    79
    For $200?
     
  11. ParseMeHard

    ParseMeHard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I already have the monitiors. And I like Surround, but like I said, the current games that "Get it right" IMO, are few and far between. But I would imagine all the new games will start supporting Surround/Eyefinity.

    Wow... I actually had no idea the 670's where THAT much cheaper... I was thinking going towards the 3970k, but Haswell is only ~4/5 months away. I could always wait for for the R3 Chips (or whatever it will be) and pick those up when they come out. I can ride out the 6 months. I think I may pick up two 670's TBH, and pocket the rest.

    Yeah. I would imagine I could OC the GTX670's to about the speed of a 680. When I had 2x 680 SOC's, the overclock performance I managed to squeeze out was very minimal.
     
  12. joshhedge

    joshhedge Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get the 670s based on the 680 reference design.
     
  13. BTRY B 529th FA BN

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    14,225
    Likes Received:
    5
    IIRC the EVGA 670 FTW's shared the same PCB as the 680 reference cards. Someone correct me if I am wrong.
     
  14. joshhedge

    joshhedge Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep you're right, along side the Asus TOP that I know of.
     
  15. MentalIlness

    MentalIlness Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,379
    Likes Received:
    8
  16. ParseMeHard

    ParseMeHard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah. Well I'll pick up those as soon as I get my refund from Newegg then!
     
  17. moonbogg

    moonbogg Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9,068
    Likes Received:
    477
    Sweet. Yeah man, the second the 670 was released the 680 became a bad choice, period.