Setting Up SSD Caching on Z68

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by Smartazz, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. Smartazz

    Smartazz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Later this week my Z68 setup should arrive. I'm planning to reuse my SSD which is a 64GB Corsair P64 SSD. Would it be possible to use this SSD as both a boot drive and as a cache? If so, how would I go about doing that? Thanks in advance.

    This is the motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138320 and I'm using a 2500K.
     
    #1 Smartazz, Nov 28, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011
  2. paperwastage

    paperwastage Golden Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    1
  3. Smartazz

    Smartazz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    That seems really complicated. Maybe I'll just use my current SSD as the boot drive then get an SSD later as a caching drive. Would it be possible to just add in an SSD cache at a later time without reinstalling Windows or anything like that?
     
  4. madhatter340

    madhatter340 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can, but it's not immediately straightforward (I just got through doing it a few days ago).

    In my case, I had my SATA controller in AHCI mode. So, I had to make a registry edit (away from my home comp which has the instructions, sorry) and reboot windows, changing my SATA controller to RAID mode in BIOS along the way. Then windows installs drivers for the raid controller. Then you just download/install the latest version of Intel's RST software. Probably need a reboot after that, and then you can open RST and enable acceleration and that's it.
     
  5. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    A big no no, Ive read about this before on Anand,,,, its gonna lead to corrupt files and eventually a dead SSD. Dont get greedy plug in the SSD and enjoy the speed and use latest firmware,, that is all you need to worry about my friend. thx gl,,
     
  6. Kenmitch

    Kenmitch Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    6,575
    Likes Received:
    9


    That doesn't look all that complicated to do. It does look somewhat time consuming tho. Guess to take advantage of the temp windows install one could start the overclocking adventure getting rid of most of the bsods involved at the same time. At least that's what I'd do anyways :)

    Now if you do plan on a SSD upgrade in the near future it does seem like it might be more hassle than it's worth.
     
  7. Smartazz

    Smartazz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the advice. I guess I'll just get another SSD. However I should really use this reinstall as an opportunity to flash the firmware and enable TRIM. I'm a little unclear on how to go about this though.
     
  8. Kenmitch

    Kenmitch Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    6,575
    Likes Received:
    9
    Kinda unsure what you meant. Bios flashing the MB? Most can be flashed thru MB's bios with flashdrive. Trim? Windows 7 takes care of that for you by default. Flashing SSD's firmware? Was another thing that I though possibly you meant. If so it's most of the time a bootable iso I think. Well at least the 2 times I've done it anyways.

    If you haven't already done it yet you could just download the manual for your MB and take a peek at it while your waiting for it to arrive.

    http://www.biostar-usa.com/app/en-us/mb/introduction.php?S_ID=546
     
    #8 Kenmitch, Nov 29, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2011
  9. Smartazz

    Smartazz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I meant that I'm updating the firmware on my 64GB Corsair P64 SSD. However, I'm having a lot of trouble figuring out how to do this. The drive's firmware needs to be updated to enable TRIM, which would delete all my data in the process. The only useful guide I've found is this: http://forum.corsair.com/v3/showthread.php?t=83708

    However, I'm not sure if that's the most recent firmware update.
     
  10. Kenmitch

    Kenmitch Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    6,575
    Likes Received:
    9
    According to Corsair all SSD firmware is found in the forum. Seeing how that is the only one listed in said forum I'd tend to believe that is the latest one available for your drive. The PDF expains all the steps except the making of the USB bootable flash drive. Just in case you don't have one already made http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/46707-ms-dos-bootable-flash-drive-create.html

    Just remember to remove all the data you need/want from the SSD before you start.
     
  11. Smartazz

    Smartazz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a million Kenmitch!
     
  12. Smartazz

    Smartazz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately I got stuck. I followed the guide but when I booted from the usb stick it showed the windows 98 boot screen, then it disappeared and only showed C:\ on a black screen. Then I restarted the computer and it wont POST. Any ideas what I did wrong?
     
Loading...