Seriously having seconds thoughts on college

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Platypus

Lifer
Apr 26, 2001
Originally posted by: ScottFern
Well I am 23 and just got into IT doing lower level things but then again its a small company. I have a degree in Political Science, and I am just wondering how that helped me get into this job? I mean I understand certain HR people value a degree regardless of what it is, I just didn't think that was common place in the IT world?

If you have a degree in something related to IT you'd not be doing lower level things.
I've got a BS degree in Network Engineering and an AS in Telecom and I was literally sought after for a job, not the other way around. I had recruiters and head hunters calling me nonstop my last year of school.

yllus

Elite Member & Lifer
Aug 20, 2000
Well I am 23 and just got into IT doing lower level things but then again its a small company. I have a degree in Political Science, and I am just wondering how that helped me get into this job? I mean I understand certain HR people value a degree regardless of what it is, I just didn't think that was common place in the IT world?
I'm sure it helped. A degree nowadays, especially in IT, doesn't say, "I know how to do this-and-that." It says, "I know how to learn, work with others, slave away for hours and finish a complicated task..."

kevinthenerd

Platinum Member
Jun 27, 2002
Originally posted by: enyce2k9
I understand that it sounds great to say continue, and just get the degree, but if you think of the effort required with the given circumstances I believe its natural to want out.

You always get out what you put in. It's natural to want out, but if it was easy then everybody would be doing it, and that's part of why it's so rewarding.

BeauJangles

Lifer
Aug 26, 2001
Originally posted by: yllus