Screen Studdering / Skipping issue

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by j03h4gLund, Oct 22, 2012.

  1. j03h4gLund

    j03h4gLund Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    While playing online games(BF3 or Rift), every 10-20 secondsish the entire screen just freezes up for a split second. This doesn't affect video's or voice communication. Everything just freezes up for a split second then goes back to normal. The actual FPS is great and looks fine but these studders/skips are driving me insane!!

    I recently upgraded my 1GB GTX 460 because of this issue and it has not helped. I tried recording a video to show the issue but the recorded video does not capture the freezes.

    My specs:
    CPU: Intel i5 2500k @ 4.3Ghz
    MB: ASRock Z68 PRO3 GEN3
    RAM: Patriot Sig 2x4 DDR3 1600
    PSU: Antec 650w Earthwatts
    GPU: 2GB MSI GTX 670
    SSD Patriot Torqx 2 64GB
    OS: Win 7 Pro 64 (licensed)
    Connection: 60Mbps x 5Mbps

    Here's what I've tried so far:


    • Installed all the latest drivers for my GPU after removing the old ones in safe mode with Driver Sweeper. Also ensured the on-board video card is not being used by disabling it and uninstalling those drivers as well.
    • Installed latest drivers/bios for Mobo.
    • Removed overclock on CPU.
    • Formatted & Installed Fresh Win 7 Pro 64bit + All windows updates.
    • Swapped SATA cable between PSU and SSD.
    • Installing the game on a different drive.
    • Swapped RAM from slots 1&3 to 2&4
    • Turned VSYNC off & set my Nvidia settings for performance
    • Tried running the game in low-render mode w/ everything cranked down(dx9)
    • C: Windows\system32>sfc /scannow
      Beginning system scan. This process will take some time.
      Beginning verification phase of system scan.
      Verification 100% complete.
      Windows Resource Protection did not find any integrity violations.
    • Ran Windows Memory Diagnostics Tool: No Errors
    I'm starting to lose my mind - Any suggestions?
     
    #1 j03h4gLund, Oct 22, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2012
  2. denis280

    denis280 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3,317
    Likes Received:
    2
    make sure the gpu card is in properly.
     
  3. j03h4gLund

    j03h4gLund Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    The card is in securely & properly, I have reseated it and also tried it in the other PCI-E slot since my mobo supports SLI. Still the issue remains. :'(
     
  4. sm625

    sm625 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    23
    You need to start killing processes and services until you find the one that is causing the issue. Could be an antivirus, could be a service like LogMeIn (LogMeIn has cause a problem exactly like yours for me), could be a printer driver, or it could be genuine malware.
     
  5. j03h4gLund

    j03h4gLund Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's a fresh install of Windows 7 Pro 64Bit with MSE as the anti-virus. Even if it was something you mentioned, wouldn't it be noticeable when not in 3d games? Because currently I can watch full screen movies with no hiccups at all.
     
  6. mfenn

    mfenn Elite Member <br> Currently on <BR> Moderator Sabb
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Download the DPC latency checker and run it in the background (or just run the game windowed). See if you can correlate any DPC spikes to hitches in the game.
     
  7. j03h4gLund

    j03h4gLund Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ran it for around 5 minutes and the studders happened around 10 times. No spikes in the graphs - heres a screenshot w/ speakeasy speedtest also.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Steltek

    Steltek Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried removing MSE to see if it could be causing the problem? Also, does your SSD have the most recent available firmware installed? If you have a spare hard drive available, it might be worth throwing a clean windows install on it and try running without the SSD to eliminate it as a possible cause of the stuttering.
     
    #8 Steltek, Oct 23, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012
  9. Dstoop

    Dstoop Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uninstall MSE. I had this exact issue years ago and MSE turned out to be the culprit, it's active scanning was scanning every single file and asset games accessed causing frequent stuttering. Of course that was forever ago and they may have resolved the issue or we've all thrown so much extra processor power at the problem that its not noticeable anymore, or it could be something else entirely, but i'd start there as AV software is frequently the cause of stutter in games.
     
  10. j03h4gLund

    j03h4gLund Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will try this when I get home.
     
  11. mfenn

    mfenn Elite Member <br> Currently on <BR> Moderator Sabb
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    :thumbsup: Good point. I had a similar issue with Filezilla and MSE. The whole machine would grind to a halt when it was generating icons because MSE decided that the whole file needed to be scanned.
     
  12. j03h4gLund

    j03h4gLund Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disabled MSE via msconfig, studdering persists.

    Any other tips before I start replacing pieces of this build?
     
  13. Steltek

    Steltek Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Honestly, if it were me, I'd pull the SSD and try running Windows on a regular hard drive before you do anything else to eliminate the possibility that your SSD is causing the problem.

    Your stuttering issue could be the SSD freezing up. The Torqx 2 uses a pretty oddball controller (Phison) and there is apparently little or no firmware development going on anywhere for it. The Corsair Nova 2 SSD uses the same controller and is giving owners fits over these exact types of issues -- apparently, some of them are even risking crossflashing of firmware from another company to get some relief (not that I advocate doing this, though -- if it is causing the problem, an RMA would be better if it is still under warranty):

    http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=700177
     
    #13 Steltek, Oct 24, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2012
  14. j03h4gLund

    j03h4gLund Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply, I am going to try this when I get home. I was thinking the same thing. Luckily I have a spare 1TB F3 that is ready for a fresh installation.

    Ill let you know how it goes :)
     
  15. j03h4gLund

    j03h4gLund Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I removed the SSD and formatted installed win7 on fresh 1TB F3. After installing the correct drivers/updates for everything, I loaded up Rift and started with low-render (directx9) and the problem persisted... *sigh*

    I removed all drives except the SSD and it appeared to be actually be better but how could the mechanical drives affect the game when the SSD has the games and the OS?

    I still need to test as I was very limited w/ my time last night but I think that may have actually been the problem.
     
  16. LowTech

    LowTech Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does your MOBO has on board video? If you do, I would pull out the video card, then test the game to see if it still shuttering. Of course, you have to lower the BF game resolution. If it still shuttering, then run the CD driver came with the MOBO. I suspect it most likely the driver for the chipsets.
     
  17. j03h4gLund

    j03h4gLund Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Turns out with the SSD by itself the game still studders so that eliminates the other drives causing it.

    Yah it does, I'll give that a try...

    Should have thought of this earlier - thanks! I currently have the card disabled and no drivers installed for it but I'll def give it a try. Will let you know tomorrow how it goes.
     
  18. MTDEW

    MTDEW Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1999
    Messages:
    4,222
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm only replying because i saw your post about buying a new motherboard.
    Things i would try before buying any new hardware.
    1st Unplug any drives other than the SSD.
    2nd Be sure your SATA is in AHCI mode in bios/UEFI before installation.
    1: disable the 2500k's video....
    In UEFI Advanced/northbridge/ IGD multimonitor - Disable
    Primary Graphics adapter PCI Express
    2: disable legacy USB 3.0 support in UEFI (for troubleshooting, you can re-enable later)
    3: Clean Install of Win7 w/SP1 if possible (see number 5: first!)
    4: Install all of the following.
    Install Intel INF driver Update Utility Latest INF is Version:9.2.3.1022
    REBOOT
    Install Intel Management Engine Driver version 8.0.2.1410
    REBOOT
    Install Intel Rapid Storage Technology Driver Version:11.6.0.1030
    REBOOT
    Install Realtek Lan driver ver:7048
    Install ASMedia USB 3.0 driver ver:1.10.1.0
    Install sound driver.... If your using your onboard sound, the latest RealTek Driver is R2.70
    5: Check your SSD is properly aligned. (it should be if you used Win7 to create the SSD partition)
    Easiest way is to check is to download and run AS SSD benchmark.
    Once started be sure your SSD is selected and look in the left top box.....iaStoreA and 1024 k should both be green and say OK.
    If you have red, your SSD isn't aligned properly, you can use Gparted to align it without re-installing everything, but it takes awhile.
    Or re-install Win7 and delete\create partitions on the SSD during setup of Win7 and Win7 should properly align the partiton on the SSD for you.
    6: Install all windows updates.
    7: Install latest video driver
    8: Verify video card is running x16 using GPU-Z
    9: Install and try games and see if problem persists. (allow games to install any directx or Visual C++ updates it needs)

    Notice: I was very particular of what to install.
    For testing, don't install any utilities, browsers, add-ons or any other programs besides windows, its updates and drivers you need. (well, i know its hard not to install antivirus software, so i'd probably still install that as soon as my Network Adapter drivers were installed)
    Don't do any OS tweaks or anything yet, until you've tested.
    Dont plug in any USB devices besides keyboard and mouse.,No gamepad controllers, external hard drives, printers etc..etc... NOTHING that isn't needed.

    EDIT: Forgot to add, if you're on a router, disconnect it and plug internet directly to pc.
    And be sure and test games online and offline to see what differs.
    You can always do a Win 7 Clean Boot and start trouble shooting that way after your new installation.
     
    #18 MTDEW, Oct 26, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2012
  19. j03h4gLund

    j03h4gLund Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    0
    1st Unplug any drives other than the SSD.
    Did this.
    2nd Be sure your SATA is in AHCI mode in bios/UEFI before installation.
    Did this and did fresh format/install after setting to AHCI.

    1:
    disable the 2500k's video....
    In UEFI Advanced/northbridge/ IGD multimonitor - Disable
    Primary Graphics adapter PCI Express
    Did this and it did not help.

    2:
    disable legacy USB 3.0 support in UEFI (for troubleshooting, you can re-enable later)
    Did this and it did not help.

    3:
    Clean Install of Win7 w/SP1 if possible (see number 5: first!)
    Did this and it did not help.

    4:
    Install all of the following.
    Install Intel INF driver Update Utility Latest INF is Version:9.2.3.1022
    REBOOT
    Install Intel Management Engine Driver version 8.0.2.1410
    REBOOT
    Install Intel Rapid Storage Technology Driver Version:11.6.0.1030
    REBOOT
    Install Realtek Lan driver ver:7048
    Install ASMedia USB 3.0 driver ver:1.10.1.0
    Install sound driver.... If your using your onboard sound, the latest RealTek Driver is R2.70
    Did all of this and it did not help.

    5:
    Check your SSD is properly aligned. (it should be if you used Win7 to create the SSD partition)
    Easiest way is to check is to download and run AS SSD benchmark.
    Once started be sure your SSD is selected and look in the left top box.....iaStoreA and 1024 k should both be green and say OK.
    If you have red, your SSD isn't aligned properly, you can use Gparted to align it without re-installing everything, but it takes awhile.
    Or re-install Win7 and delete\create partitions on the SSD during setup of Win7 and Win7 should properly align the partiton on the SSD for you.
    Did this and it did not help. All were green. Ran quick and full tests.

    6:
    Install all windows updates.
    Did this and it did not help.

    7:
    Install latest video driver
    Did this and it did not help.

    8:
    Verify video card is running x16 using GPU-Z
    Verified this. Also tried both PCI-E slots. Did not help.

    9:
    Install and try games and see if problem persists. (allow games to install any directx or Visual C++ updates it needs)
    Tested and issues remain.Also I feel its important to note that the sound is not affected by these glitches
     
  20. jolancer

    jolancer Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry if i missed it but i didn't see you mention or anyone ask... If the stutter happens within these games Online Only?(cause you mention online) but what about offline completely?... Does it stutter at all offline?

    My first assumption(after you listed that compitent list of troubleshooting you initally went through. Thats a breath of fresh air for most probably. Thx for that) was your internet connection(Located Far away from the game server your using??), or simply perhaps a connection related bug for the game if not internet issue related alone.

    more random assumptions - someone correct me if im wrong but the weak part of your system also is that Motherboard, ASrock? Iv been outa hardware for few years now but isnt that one of the generic brands, cheaper then the mainstream players such as Gigabyte, MSI, DFI etc?... On cheap boards in the day i sometimes had boards that the onboard ethernet controller wouldnt even function, but plugging an aftermarket one in would work fine after disabling the onboard in BIOS.
     
  21. Steltek

    Steltek Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Asrock is now considered to be a lower-tier high-end brand now, right up there behind ASUS and Gigabyte, and makes some very good motherboards. They originally were a subsidiary of ASUS but was spun off as a separate company several years ago. The technology and engineering transfers at the spinoff made their first boards look a lot like ASUS boards, but they've really hit their own stride in the last 12-18 months. There are some very credible rumors that ASUS made a serious offer to buy Asrock back last month - we'll see how that turns out.
     
    #21 Steltek, Nov 9, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2012
  22. Steltek

    Steltek Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    0
    How is your internet connected? Is it wireless, wired ethernet, or USB? Does the modem connect directly to the system, or does it go through a router? Also, when you speed test your internet connection as it is currently connected, does it test out near the rated speed (or at least where past experience tells you it should be) or is it appearing to be a lot slower than it should be?

    One final thing: if you check the homegroups on your machine, is your machine a member of a homegroup? If so, try leaving it. I had a situation yesterday where membership in a homegroup on a clean Win7 install was limiting my normal 13-16 megabit connection to less than 2 megabits/s and internet browsing was literally all over the place (page delays, page loading hangups, etc). Leaving the homegroup totally eliminated the problem.
     
    #22 Steltek, Nov 9, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2012
Loading...